Err: the PWD environment variable is not defined

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
gagan8877
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 77
Joined: Mon Jun 19, 2006 1:30 pm

Err: the PWD environment variable is not defined

Post by gagan8877 »

Hi gurus

I have Win XP SP2 + MS Do Net Framework 2.0 SP1 + MS Do Net Framework 3.0 SP1 + MS Do Net Framework 3.5 + VC++ 9.0 Express + Turbo C++ 4.5 and DS Enterprise 7.5x2

I installed VC++ 9.0 after DS, then removed DS, installed TC++ 4.5 as well and then reinstalled DS. Also added the PWD variable with "."

Still getting the error below while compiling a job with Transformer stage. Please help:

-----------------------------------------------

Output from transformer compilation follows:

##I TFCN 000001 20:27:17(000) <main_program>
Ascential DataStage(tm) Enterprise Edition 7.5
Copyright (c) 2004, 1997-2004 Ascential Software Corporation.
All Rights Reserved


##I TOSH 000002 20:27:18(000) <main_program> orchgeneral: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 20:27:18(001) <main_program> orchsort: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 20:27:18(002) <main_program> orchstats: loaded
##W TFPA 000012 20:27:22(002) <main_program> Warning: the PWD environment variable is not defined. Remote process startup may be unsuccessful as a result.If your ORCHESTRATE job does not start up correctly, please set your PWD variable to a value that will work on all nodes of your system.
##E TBLD 000000 20:27:24(000) <main_program> Error when checking composite operator: Subprocess command failed with exit status 256
##E TFSR 000019 20:27:24(001) <main_program> Could not check all operators because of previous error(s)
##W TFCP 000000 20:27:24(002) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: The number of reject datasets "0"is less than the number of input datasets "1".
##W TBLD 000000 20:27:24(003) <main_program> Error when checking composite operator: Output from subprocess: cxx: file 'C:/PROGRA~1/MKSTOO~1/etc/cxx.ccg': The system cannot find the file specified.

##I TFCP 000008 20:27:24(004) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: cxx -O -IC:/Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine/include -W/TP -W/EHa -DAPT_USE_ANSI_IOSTREAMS -c D:/Ascential/DataStage/Projects/Wizlogic/Wizlogic/RT_BP1.O/V0S1_Test1_Transformer_1.C -o D:/Ascential/DataStage/Projects/Wizlogic/Wizlogic/RT_BP1.O/V0S1_Test1_Transformer_1.tmp.o
##E TCOS 000029 20:27:24(005) <main_program> Creation of step finished with status = FAILED (Test1.Transformer_1)

*** Internal Generated Transformer Code follows:
0001: //
0002: // Generated file to implement the V0S1_repos_Transformer_1 transform operator.
0003: //
0004:
0005: // define our input/output link names
0006: inputname 0 DSLink2;
0007: outputname 0 DSLink4;
0008:
0009: initialize {
0010: // define our row rejected variable
0011: int8 RowRejected0;
0012:
0013: // define our null set variable
0014: int8 NullSetVar0;
0015:
0016: }
0017:
0018: mainloop {
0019: // initialise our row rejected variable
0020: RowRejected0 = 1;
0021:
0022: // evaluate columns (no constraints) for link: DSLink4
0023: writerecord 0;
0024: RowRejected0 = 0;
0025: }
0026:
0027: finish {
0028: }
0029:
*** End of Internal Generated Transformer Code
Minhajuddin
Participant
Posts: 467
Joined: Tue Mar 20, 2007 6:36 am
Location: Chennai
Contact:

Post by Minhajuddin »

The C++ compiler which you need to install for DS 7.5x2 on windows is the Microsoft Dot Net Visual Studio 2003. This is the "only" compiler which works with DS EE on Windows.
Minhajuddin

<a href="http://feeds.feedburner.com/~r/MyExperi ... ~6/2"><img src="http://feeds.feedburner.com/MyExperienc ... lrow.3.gif" alt="My experiences with this DLROW" border="0"></a>
DS_FocusGroup
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 197
Joined: Sun Jul 15, 2007 11:45 pm
Location: Prague

Post by DS_FocusGroup »

Install the C++ compiler version 2003 and try to remove the last few values from compiler environment variables,as i did when i got the same error message while compiling my job with range lookup

FROM

APT_COMPILEOPT=-W/TP -W/EHa -DAPT_USE_ANSI_IOSTREAMS -c -W/Zc:wchar_t-
APT_LINKOPT =-s -W/dll -W/base:0x50000000 -W/Zc:wchar_t-

TO

APT_COMPILEOPT=-W/TP -W/EHa -DAPT_USE_ANSI_IOSTREAMS -c
APT_LINKOPT =-s -W/dll -W/base:0x50000000

and it worked , hope same to you
Post Reply