Page 1 of 1

Multiple Instances of a job

Posted: Fri May 09, 2008 12:06 pm
by saini
Hi

I have a Sequence which allows multiple instances.
Is it required that the jobs which are put in the job sequence should also allow multiple instances.


Thanks

Posted: Fri May 09, 2008 12:10 pm
by ag_ram
Yes. It needs to be.

Posted: Fri May 09, 2008 12:13 pm
by saini
Then If require to give the invocation id for each job in the JOb Activity Stage in Sequencer.
What should we give in the Invocation ID. Is theer any particular value or name for Invocation Ids

Posted: Fri May 09, 2008 12:36 pm
by ag_ram
saini wrote:Then If require to give the invocation id for each job in the JOb Activity Stage in Sequencer.
What should we give in the Invocation ID. Is theer any particular value or name for Invocation Ids
One can give any number, string or filename as invocation id. We generally pass invocation id as given below (Script accepts a parameter for invocation ID.

Code: Select all

jsInvocationId=$1
$DSHOME/bin/dsjob -run -wait -warn 0 -jobstatus -param jsInterfaceName=$jsInterfaceName $DS_PROJECT $DS_SEQNAME.$jsInvocationId
But alot depends on requirement and design.
thanks

Posted: Fri May 09, 2008 4:54 pm
by ray.wurlod
ONE instance of a job can run with no invocation ID (that is, an invocation ID of ""). However, a second instance with the same invocation ID, whatever it is, will fail to start (job not in a runnable state: already running).