Page 1 of 1

Creating Job Sequence number

Posted: Sun Mar 09, 2008 11:41 pm
by mujeebrahman
Hi,


I need to create a unique sequence number for a job. If I run the job at a particular instant of time say today, it should have a sequence number and if I run the same job again after some time say tomorrow, then it should have a new sequence number.

Do anybody have any idea how to create the sequence number for a job?

Thanks

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 12:47 am
by ray.wurlod
The easiest way is to invoke either of the SDK key management routines from a Routine activity in the job sequence you are using to control the job, and to pass the result to the job as a job parameter value.

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 1:31 am
by mujeebrahman
Thanks Ray for your immediate reply.

I think your are talking about the Sequence jobs.In sequence jobs, this SDK key managent routines are there under trigger options. But I think that is for conditions for the sequence to run successfully.

Actually what I want to do is to load the sequence number of each job in a table called Control table in Database.This table will also contain the information about each job like the start date, status of the job,row count etc.This is solely for the audit purpose.

It will be great if anybody have any suggestions.

Posted: Mon Mar 10, 2008 2:31 am
by ray.wurlod
You misinterpreted what I suggested. These SDK routines can equally be called from a Routine activity. Try it.

An additional job somewhere in the sequence can look after updating your audit table, once the actual job has finished.