Page 1 of 1

DSSetJobLimit in Job control tab.

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 5:52 am
by tkbharani
Dear All

I am trying to set row limit for a job. I am writing code in
Job(Job_UsingColumnGenerator) --> Job properties --> JobControl Tab.

Code:
-------
Job_handle=DSAttachJob("Job_UsingColumnGenerator",DSJ.ERRWARN)
LimitErr = DSSetJobLimit(Job_handle,DSJ.LIMITROWS,5)
Deterr = DSDetachJob(Job_handle)

My job keeps running and does not show any further errors or getting completed,I have to clean up job resource for killing it. Is it correct to do so.

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:11 am
by ArndW
You cannot change that limit from within the job itself, that needs to be done before the job is started.

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:12 am
by ray.wurlod
You are thinking like a server job developer.

For parallel jobs there is no way to set a row limit with the job compiled normally. If you compile the job in trace mode, only then can you set a row limit. And it's a row limit per node.

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:15 am
by tkbharani
Ok.

Is there a way to set ROW limit using API programs...or how to set row limit in Parallel jobs.

Posted: Thu Mar 06, 2008 6:22 am
by ray.wurlod
As stated, there is no way to set a row limit for a parallel job (unless it is compiled in trace mode, which carries its own penalties and is only intended for diagnostic purposes) without designing one in. For example you could compare the row number in a Transformer stage with a job parameter's value.