Page 1 of 1

Received SIGPIPE signal caused by closing of the socket

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 1:07 am
by Suman
Hi,
We are getting the below error when we are using & in the input file name.

main_program: Received SIGPIPE signal caused by closing of the socket on port 13,400.
No output will be sent to port 13,400 for the rest of the job.

The job is showing no counts on the links and job monitor count is coming as 0 in the log. When we remove the & the count is coming in the log.

The job has one input sequential stage and output oracle stage and the datastage version is 7.5.2.

Is there any problem with & in the input filename.

Regards,
Suman

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 2:42 am
by AmeyJoshi14
Hi,
Detail of SIGPIPE error can be get by refering to following links:

viewtopic.php?t=85983&highlight=received+sigpipe

and this
viewtopic.php?t=95618&highlight=received+sigpipe

In the last link kumar_s has mentioned the solution :wink: ...as per his post ...

Code: Select all

SIGPIPE signal was received from the job Monitor. Its a known bug, and as advised by IBM, change the time based monitor to Size based monitor. 
This information is available in release notes as well. 

This is done by unsetting the APT_MONITOR_TIME environment 
variable and setting the APT_MONITOR_SIZE variable to a suitable number, 
e.g. 1000000. This will cause the job to update row count information 
every 1000000 rows. The environment variables can be set in the Project 
Properties (in the Administrator) - this will affect all jobs. 
Alternatively, they be set for an individual job using the Job 
Properties screen in the Designer. 

To ensure the case, you can turn off the monitor for serveral runs. 

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 2:52 am
by Suman
Hi Amey,
We have already checked the links you have given. We tried with changing APT_MONITOR_SIZE and APT_MONITOR_TIME values. The problem in the job is coming because of '&' in the input file name. We want to know how '&' is causing this problem.

Regards,
Sumanta

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 3:44 am
by ray.wurlod
Suman wrote: The problem in the job is coming because of '&' in the input file name.
What proof do you have for this assertion?

Posted: Tue Feb 05, 2008 6:59 am
by Suman
ray.wurlod wrote:
Suman wrote: The problem in the job is coming because of '&' in the input file name.
What proof do you have for this assertion? ...
Hi Ray,
When we are giving '&' in the filename then only the warning is coming. It is not coming when '&' is not given in the filename.

Regards,
Suman

Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:32 pm
by DataDoctor
Suman,
Was you able to resolve this problem. I am having the same issue. When I pass a parameter to oracle query with '&' sign in it, it throws the same warning.

e.g. SELECT ID, NAME FROM PARTY WHERE PARTY_NAME = 'P&A'

IF I pass any other value without '&' sign in PARTY_NAME then its working fine.

Posted: Mon Aug 16, 2010 8:53 pm
by DataDoctor
Hi,
Its my bad. Actually problem in file creation. When file is getting created with & sing in file name, it throws a warning. Please reply if someone had faced the same issue.

Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 12:47 pm
by emma
I still have this issue with a switch stage and I'm on version 8.7.

Anyone have any ideea what to do in my case. I really would like to use this stage instead of transformer all over the places.

Thanks,

Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 12:48 pm
by emma
I still have this issue with a switch stage and I'm on version 8.7.

Anyone have any ideea what to do in my case. I really would like to use this stage instead of transformer all over the places.

Thanks,

Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 2:16 pm
by rameshrr3
Reviving an extinct thread may not be the best option .
What are you trying to do with the switch stage, can you give some more details on the job design ?

IBM best practices section 5.7.4 does not recommend using switch or filter when transformer stages are suitable. Only if your link execution conditions use runtime values ( using job parameters) , then consider filter or switch.

Best Practices URL http://www.redbooks.ibm.com/redbooks/SG ... wwhelp.htm

Sec 9.3 says this

Code: Select all

9.3 Filter and Switch stages 
The Filter and Switch stages evaluate their expressions at runtime for every input row. Because it is compiled, a parallel Transformer with output link constraints is faster than a Filter or Switch. 

Use of Filter and Switch stages must be limited to instances where the entire filter or switch expression must be parameterized at runtime. In a Parallel Transformer, link constraint expressions, but not data, is fixed by the developer. 
 
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Posted: Tue May 15, 2012 4:48 pm
by ray.wurlod
Learn the effect of the following special characters in the operating system shell:
  • &

    ;

    |

    >

    <

    &&

    ||
You will then understand what is happening. Then learn about "escaping" and other techniques for bypassing the behaviour of these special shell characters.