Reading XML file.

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Siddharth3012
Participant

Reading XML file.

Post by Siddharth3012 »

Hi Friends,

I am new to DSxchange and Datastage both. I have a requirement to read XML file and post into oracle RDBMS tables. I am using DS 7.x Enterprise edition....the thing is that when i searched the DS pallete, I could not find any stage to read XML format file. Can you please help me to read the XML file reading and validation. Please provide the answer step wise..so that i could go fwd step wise to implement....
Thanks in adavnce..bi
Siddharth Pratap Singh
Datastage Developer
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by chulett »

Welcome. :D

So seriously, you couldn't find any of the XML stages in your palette? You have to have a job open in the Designer (other than a Sequence job) to see the appropriate icons for the job type, but unless yours has been customized they all should be there under the Real Time category:

XML Input: for reading
XML Output: for writing
XML Transformer: for... 'transforming', typically via XSLT

Suggest you find and read the XMLPACK_20_Designer.pdf document in the Docs directory on your PC. That and get the XML Best Practices document from the Tips page on Kim Duke's website. Both will go a long ways towards getting you going in XML with DataStage.

And lastly you'll find the Folder stage is used to feed the XML Input stage in Server jobs while the Sequential File stage is used in PX jobs.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Siddharth3012
Participant

How to read XML file in Sequential file stage

Post by Siddharth3012 »

Hi,

First thing first...Thank you very much for your help and support...