Page 1 of 1

copy dataset from one server to another

Posted: Mon Dec 10, 2007 11:51 pm
by dnat
Hi,

i want to copy a dataset from my development server to system test server. Can anyone tell me what command to use.

Thanks.

Re: copy dataset from one server to another

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 1:02 am
by ThilSe
dnat wrote:Hi,

i want to copy a dataset from my development server to system test server. Can anyone tell me what command to use.

Thanks.
In my understanding datasets cannot be copied between servers. We can write the contents of a dataset into a file and then copy it.

Regards,
Senthil

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 2:06 am
by ray.wurlod
That understanding is basically correct.

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 3:13 am
by dnat
Thanks for the information.

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 3:34 am
by ArndW
As Ray said - you are basically correct that the datasets cannot be easily copied. If your APT_CONFIG file settings point to the same absolute paths on both servers then you could copy the data files and the descriptor file across machines. But it is better to dump the dataset into a sequential file either by using a simple DataStage job or the orchadmin dump command line to generate a file that can be copied across machines and then a small DataStage job to re-load that data into a DataSet.

Re: copy dataset from one server to another

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 4:47 pm
by Chuah
dnat wrote:Hi,

i want to copy a dataset from my development server to system test server. Can anyone tell me what command to use.

Thanks.
first you need to have a NFS mount on your development server that is pointing to your test server. write a generic job with RCP turned on that has an input dataset and an output dataset. Your output set should have as its directory the remotely mounted filesystem.

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 8:11 am
by manuel.gomez
Fantastic topic, answered my question literally

Just to give closure to this: if the .ds file is the descriptor file describing columns, number of records, partitions, .......where is the data itself stored? in the DS_TEMP* folders???

Thanks !!!

Posted: Mon Sep 22, 2008 1:17 pm
by attu
DS_TEMP would hold temporary copy of your job design, the resource disk in your config file will tell the location of your data stored.