Page 1 of 1

Modify Stage

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 7:02 am
by mcs_murali83
row generator---->modifystage----->target

In my row generator, i am having two columns as

name,id
xxxxx,12
yyyyy,13
zzzzzz,14

for name, my datatype is varchar
but in id, my datatype is varchar bcos i m unable to define the datatype as integer in row generator. so i have given as varchar for column 'id'.
using modify stage how can i convert the datatype from 'varchar' to 'integer' for the column 'id'.

Pls solve the issue.

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:03 pm
by dsedi
in the row generator uyou will be able to specify the data type as integer!
also you can use some function like decimal_from_string to get the numeric output!

In the developers guide you will get a lot of info.

Edi

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 2:35 pm
by dsdev_123
should be a defualt conversion. try giving integer on the target side. but i am not sure.

Posted: Wed Nov 14, 2007 4:08 pm
by ray.wurlod
Professionalism Note
Please eschew SMS-style abbreviations. DSXchange is not a mobile phone; we expect a professional standard of writing.


The Row Generator can generate data in any of the simple data types, of which Integer is one.

(It can not generate vectors or subrecords, which are non-simple data types.)

Perhaps you would like to justify your assertion
mcs_murali83 wrote:i m unable to define the datatype as integer in row generator

Re: Modify Stage

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 12:23 am
by siva.k82
mcs_murali83 wrote:row generator---->modifystage----->target

In my row generator, i am having two columns as

name,id
xxxxx,12
yyyyy,13
zzzzzz,14

for name, my datatype is varchar
but in id, my datatype is varchar bcos i m unable to define the datatype as integer in row generator. so i have given as varchar for column 'id'.
using modify stage how can i convert the datatype from 'varchar' to 'integer' for the column 'id'.

Pls solve the issue.
i will give small example of type convertion please find below type convertion function
Column_Name=type_conversion('Column_Name')
the same example you need to specify in the stage specification.......propertybox.

Posted: Tue Dec 11, 2007 2:05 am
by ray.wurlod
I think that mcs_murali wanted the exact function to use, not the syntax of a Specification property. Further, I am fairly sure it was wanted a month ago.