Page 1 of 1

How to run with changed variable values

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 10:33 am
by jherr22
I am running 20 jobs against Database1 (with its userID and Password).
I want to run those 20 jobs against Database2 (with its different userID and Password).
In the Administrator, I defined project variables DB_USR and DB_PSWD, and set them to the values for DB1. I compiled all the jobs, ran them, and they worked.

Next, I changed the values of DB_USR and DB_PSWD in the Administrator. What do I have to do in order for the jobs to run with these new values into DB2?
Do I have to recompile all 20 jobs? Hopefully not.
What else?

A second related question:
Is there a way to recompile all 20 jobs without bringing up each one and compiling them individually?

Thanks,
-- john herr
W: 720-922-5903

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:01 am
by chulett
What's your exact 7.x version number?

The Mananger has a Multi-Job Compiler you can use to, well... compile multiple jobs. :wink:

I don't see how to use Manager to compile multiple jobs

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:09 am
by jherr22
I am using version 7.5.2.
I looked at Manager and could not see how to compile multiple jobs.
-- john herr

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 11:16 am
by chulett
In the 7.5.x releases you should be fine changing environment variables in the Administrator without recompiling.

Manager / Tools / Run Multiple Job Compile

Didn't work.

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:08 pm
by jherr22
Changing the variable only did not work.
The only way I could get it to work was to go into the individual job(s) and drop those 2 vrbls, and then add them in again.
This can't be the right way to do it.
-- john

Posted: Thu Nov 01, 2007 12:39 pm
by chulett
Then you need to report this as a bug to your official support provider and see what they have to say. All you should have to do is change the value in the Administrator.

Clarify something. You set the value in the Administrator and then your jobs are set to what for their default value? $PROJDEF, yes?

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 3:27 am
by ray.wurlod
Create the environment variables in the Adminitrator client.

Add them as job parameters to your jobs.
In the jobs set the job parameter default value to the special token $PROJDEF.

Compile.

When you run the job, it will pick up the values from those specified in the Administrator client.

Deploy your jobs to the other project, with executables.
In the Administrator client of that project set different (appropriate) values for those same environment variables.

You do not need to recompile the jobs.

However you may need to move some lines from the DSParams file in the first project into the DSParams file in the second project; most deployment tools do not migrate the project environment variables.

Posted: Fri Nov 02, 2007 6:55 am
by chulett
I'm assuming this is related to another post with the exact same problem that was resolved over in the FAQ Discussion forum... yes?

Problem Solved

Posted: Tue Nov 06, 2007 10:33 am
by jherr22
As mentioned in a previous post, I was missing the usage of $PROJDEF within the jobs.
That fixed everything.

Thanks for your help.
-- john