Page 1 of 1

User status in parallel

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 3:41 am
by saraswathi
Hi,
I'm converting a server job into parallel.
In server user status will be given like outputroutine(value) in one job, and that value will be ued in another job. i.e., I need a user value from the previous job. how should i get it in parallel job sequence. should i create a output routine

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:03 am
by sudhakar_viswa
Hi,

I did not understand properly. Can you explain some more elaboratedly.

Regards,
-- sudhakar

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:11 am
by balajisr
You need to write the value into a file. Read the file in the job sequence and pass it as a parameter to the downstream jobs.

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 6:24 am
by saraswathi
In server edition, I designed a sequence to run two of the server jobs.

Ex:
Job1 and Job2

i'm getting the count of input records in job1 and using this
count in job2 through user status

In job2, i'm using the job parameter count,

count ==Job1.UserStatus

(in sequence we have the option Job1.UserStatus)

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:20 am
by chulett
Why convert everything to PX? Continue to use a Server job for the first part. USERSTATUS is only supported in PX using a BASIC Transformer.

Re: User status in parallel

Posted: Thu Oct 25, 2007 7:34 am
by sri1dhar
saraswathi wrote:Hi,
I'm converting a server job into parallel.
In server user status will be given like outputroutine(value) in one job, and that value will be ued in another job. i.e., I need a user value from the previous job. how should i get it in parallel job sequence. should i create a output routine
There is no parallel job sequence. Its same for both Server and Parallel Editions. You can call both server and parallel jobs from a Job sequence.

Posted: Sun Oct 28, 2007 10:30 pm
by sudhakar_viswa
Hi Saraswati,

You need to pass the no.of records of a file into the job as a parameter.
So, in sequence use the Execute Command activity to count the no.of records in a file. And in the job activity of other job specify Execute Command activity. command_output to count parameter of that job.


Regards,
-- sudhakar

Re: User status in parallel

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 4:37 am
by mantums
saraswathi wrote:Hi,
I'm converting a server job into parallel.
In server user status will be given like outputroutine(value) in one job, and that value will be ued in another job. i.e., I need a user value from the previous job. how should i get it in parallel job sequence. should i create a output routine
U can use User variable to capture the user status.

Posted: Tue Oct 30, 2007 7:20 am
by ray.wurlod
You don't need to use a user variable. (Neither does U.)
The user status is available to any downstream activity in the job sequence as an activity variable from the (server) Job activity that set the value in the user status area.