User status in parallel

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
saraswathi
Participant
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:13 am

User status in parallel

Post by saraswathi »

Hi,
I'm converting a server job into parallel.
In server user status will be given like outputroutine(value) in one job, and that value will be ued in another job. i.e., I need a user value from the previous job. how should i get it in parallel job sequence. should i create a output routine
sudhakar_viswa
Participant
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:35 am

Post by sudhakar_viswa »

Hi,

I did not understand properly. Can you explain some more elaboratedly.

Regards,
-- sudhakar
i need to know datastage
balajisr
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 785
Joined: Thu Jul 28, 2005 8:58 am

Post by balajisr »

You need to write the value into a file. Read the file in the job sequence and pass it as a parameter to the downstream jobs.
saraswathi
Participant
Posts: 33
Joined: Wed Jun 20, 2007 1:13 am

Post by saraswathi »

In server edition, I designed a sequence to run two of the server jobs.

Ex:
Job1 and Job2

i'm getting the count of input records in job1 and using this
count in job2 through user status

In job2, i'm using the job parameter count,

count ==Job1.UserStatus

(in sequence we have the option Job1.UserStatus)
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Why convert everything to PX? Continue to use a Server job for the first part. USERSTATUS is only supported in PX using a BASIC Transformer.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
sri1dhar
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Mon Nov 03, 2003 3:57 pm

Re: User status in parallel

Post by sri1dhar »

saraswathi wrote:Hi,
I'm converting a server job into parallel.
In server user status will be given like outputroutine(value) in one job, and that value will be ued in another job. i.e., I need a user value from the previous job. how should i get it in parallel job sequence. should i create a output routine
There is no parallel job sequence. Its same for both Server and Parallel Editions. You can call both server and parallel jobs from a Job sequence.
sudhakar_viswa
Participant
Posts: 85
Joined: Fri Nov 18, 2005 5:35 am

Post by sudhakar_viswa »

Hi Saraswati,

You need to pass the no.of records of a file into the job as a parameter.
So, in sequence use the Execute Command activity to count the no.of records in a file. And in the job activity of other job specify Execute Command activity. command_output to count parameter of that job.


Regards,
-- sudhakar
i need to know datastage
mantums
Participant
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Aug 30, 2006 10:14 pm
Location: Channai

Re: User status in parallel

Post by mantums »

saraswathi wrote:Hi,
I'm converting a server job into parallel.
In server user status will be given like outputroutine(value) in one job, and that value will be ued in another job. i.e., I need a user value from the previous job. how should i get it in parallel job sequence. should i create a output routine
U can use User variable to capture the user status.
Mahantesh Shivanagi
Basel-Developement team
Standard Chartered
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

You don't need to use a user variable. (Neither does U.)
The user status is available to any downstream activity in the job sequence as an activity variable from the (server) Job activity that set the value in the user status area.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply