dsjob -run -param file

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
ds_is_fun
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 194
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2005 12:00 pm

dsjob -run -param file

Post by ds_is_fun »

Im trying to run my job from command line through the command "dsjob"
1.I have created my job params file under location-
IBM/InformationSerer/Server/DSEngine/dsparams1.txt'
2. Im trying to run it with the syntax -
dsjob -run -mode NORMAL -param file='IBM/InformationSerer/Server/DSEngine/dsparams1.txt' GlobalSales_DEV CeilTest

Im running into error-
Error -3 getting information for parameter 'file'

Status code = -3 DSJE_BADPARAM

Any help with the correct syntax is appreciated.
Thanks!
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Your job does not have a job parameter called "file". This is what is generating the error when you use this syntax, which is referring to a job parameter called "file".
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

It takes a lot of code to translate a file into parmeter values. Trust me. It is not that easy.
Mamu Kim
AmeyJoshi14
Participant
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Dec 01, 2006 5:17 am
Location: Texas

Post by AmeyJoshi14 »

You want to run the job through command line, the command you are using is perfect but the problem is syntax.
When you give the command 'dsjob -run' the following error occurs:
Invalid arguments: dsjob -run
[-mode <NORMAL | RESET | VALIDATE>]
[-param <name>=<value>]
[-warn <n>]
[-rows <n>]
[-wait]
[-opmetadata <TRUE | FALSE>]
[-disableprjhandler]
[-disablejobhandler]
[-jobstatus]
[-userstatus]
[-local]
[-useid]
<project> <job|jobid>

Status code = -9999 DSJE_DSJOB_ERROR

The commands mention in the square bracket ([) are optional,while the other one's are compulsary, so inorder to run the job you have to use the following command..and the job will run.... :wink:

dsjob -run PROJECT_NAME JOB_NAME

eg: dsjob -run DS_dev Customer_status_job
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

To me, it looks to be as Kim mentioned - a bunch of parameter values in a file and an attempt to simply pass the filename to the job in the hope that somehow it will magically know what to do with them all. The syntax used was perfectly valid, it just was saying that there is no parameter who's name is 'file' in the job being run.

As our good friend notes, it ain't that easy. :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

Does'nt version 8 have that capability of providing the parameter file?
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Parameter set yes, parameter file no.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
DSguru2B
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 6854
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2005 3:44 pm
Location: Houston, TX

Post by DSguru2B »

O yea, that bugger is called a parameter set. Thanks Craig :)
Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
lstsaur
Participant
Posts: 1139
Joined: Thu Oct 21, 2004 9:59 pm

Post by lstsaur »

What kind of information that you have in your dsparams1.txt file?
cundyp
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 10:57 am

dsjob -file /tmp/serv.txt Domain Server -Command Project

Post by cundyp »

Step 1: I first successfully listed the projects on our server.
This required setting up a /tmp/serv.txt file.
$ cd /IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine
$ . ./dsenv
$ cd bin
$ ./dsjob -file /tmp/serv.txt ANTARES:9080 AURIGA:31801 -lprojects

Where the /tmp/serv.txt file contains:
ANTARES:9080,AURIGA:31801,dsadm,***pwd**
~
"serv.txt" [Read only] 1 line, 43 characters
(Domain,Server,UID,PWD)

Step 2: I then successfully executed a job then a sequence using dsjob.
Note: This required setting up a /tmp/serv.txt file (done in step 1).
$ cd /IBM/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine
$ . ./dsenv
$ cd bin
$ ./dsjob -file /tmp/serv.txt ANTARES:9080 AURIGA:31801 -run -wait -mode NORMAL -warn 0 HMKSandboxv801 rpcE1XA570

./dsjob -file /tmp/serv.txt ANTARES:9080 AURIGA:31801 -run -wait -mode NORMAL -warn 0 HMKSandboxv801 rpcE1XA570_EtlrunTest
Last edited by cundyp on Wed Oct 24, 2007 1:51 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pete Cundy
Leawood, Kansas
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

So, Pete... is your "we" the same "we" as the "ds_is_fun" we that started all this? :?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
cundyp
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 10:57 am

Response??

Post by cundyp »

I'm not sure if i responded where i shouldn't have but it looked like one of the issues was the dsjob -file $File etc command. I had a case opened with IBM on this an thought it applied to this posting and also posted my results previously on DSXchange.

I'm not really sure what you were trying to tell me??
Pete Cundy
Leawood, Kansas
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Sometimes we get other people on the same team jumping in and continuing a thread, wasn't sure if that was what was going on here. No worries.

Actually, it wasn't an issue with the "-file" option for dsjob. If you look at the original post, you'll see it was a "-param" option for a parameter named "file" that was the issue.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
cundyp
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue Feb 06, 2007 10:57 am

Answer Clerification

Post by cundyp »

Here is the original post:

2. Im trying to run it with the syntax -
dsjob -run -mode NORMAL -param file='IBM/InformationSerer/Server/DSEngine/dsparams1.txt' GlobalSales_DEV CeilTest

Response:
The IIS 8.0.1 syntax is:
dsjob -file domain server -run -warn -mode project jobname

file = serv.txt containing: domain,server, userid, password

I was just trying to clerify the point that his dsjob -run won't cut it in IIS 8.0.1
Pete Cundy
Leawood, Kansas
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

No, the specific problem here is with the "-param" option, his syntax is technically fine.
dsjob -run -mode NORMAL -param file='IBM/InformationSerer/Server/DSEngine/dsparams1.txt' GlobalSales_DEV CeilTest
Error -3 getting information for parameter 'file'

Status code = -3 DSJE_BADPARAM
It found the job, interrogated it for parameters and didn't find one named "file" so threw the error noted above.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply