Page 1 of 1

Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 12:12 am
by ArndW
Add a PEEK stage to your job to make sure it is the sequential write and not the Oracle Read (vs. the view-data) doing this.

Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 1:40 am
by ArndW
Can you add the SAP data to your peek stage as well to see if they `look' the same? That problem seems rather odd, and I don't know what could be causing it.

Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:39 am
by Maveric
The data coming from the Sap file when written to another sequential file is proper comes as it is in the file (Seen from the View Data tab). No change at all.

Posted: Tue Oct 09, 2007 2:41 am
by Maveric
The data coming from the Sap file when written to another sequential file is proper comes as it is in the file (Seen from the View Data tab). No change at all.

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 5:46 am
by ArndW
If the source is the sequential file I would use a filter with a "tr" command, otherwise a CONVERT function will do the trick.

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 7:40 am
by Maveric
Hi thanks for the replies. I have tried the following options with Convert() function using escape character.

Convert(Input.Field,CHAR(\A0\)," ") and
Convert(Input.Field,\CHAR(A0)\," ")

It is giving me a blank output. What other options can i try?

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 8:44 am
by boxtoby
I've had a similar problem here.

My problem was code page related. If the code page of your source, ds job and target are not aligned you tend to get this sort of problem.

Try utf-8 as your ds job code page or nls setting and see what happens.


Hope this helps!

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 4:48 pm
by ray.wurlod
The Char() function requires a decimal argument. Try Char(160).

Posted: Wed Oct 10, 2007 11:34 pm
by keshav0307
you need to enable NLS, or convert the file into Windows-1252 code page,

Posted: Thu Oct 11, 2007 8:16 am
by Maveric
Thanks ArndW. tr command in external source stage worked. The character mentioned has the octal value of 240. The code that i used is

cat SequentialFilePath/SapArticleFileName | tr -s '\240' '^'

and latter in the transformer i trimmed the "^" character.

Thanks again for the replies.