Parameter Passing in sequence

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
parag.s.27
Participant
Posts: 221
Joined: Fri Feb 17, 2006 3:38 am
Location: India
Contact:

Parameter Passing in sequence

Post by parag.s.27 »

We are using an execute command stage for taking the output of Cat command which is reading a file. Next to this stage we are using a routine activity to take a specific value from the output of the Cat command.
Finally I am passing this specific value to a parameter which will be used in a different job of same sequence.

But when I run the job its throwing an error as: -

Code: Select all

LKCoverOptionsSeq..JobControl (@Job_Activity_7): Controller problem: Error calling DSSetParam(AUDIT_TRAIL_ID), code=-4
[ParamValue/Limitvalue is not appropriate]
Can some one suggest why is it so? We are not able to figure out
Thanks & Regards
Parag Saundattikar
Certified for Infosphere DataStage v8.0
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

It's been discussed here quite a bit. Rather than someone typing it up one more time, how about searching for a signifcant portion of your error message? An exact search for "ParamValue/Limitvalue is not appropriate" should turn up what you need to know.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

Inside the jobactivity, where your specifying $CommandOutput, provide the following
Code:

Field(Execute_Command_2.$CommandOutput,@FM,1)

OR simply
Code:

Execute_Command_2.$CommandOutput<1>
swades
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 323
Joined: Mon Dec 04, 2006 11:52 pm

Post by swades »

battaliou
Participant
Posts: 155
Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 7:28 am
Location: London
Contact:

Post by battaliou »

Had the same problem in UNIX and the notify stage which limits DS functionality. Needed to remove the linefeed so command now looks like:

Code: Select all

cat foo.txt|tr '\012' ' '
Note that you have to change LF to something so a space ' ' is ok for 1 line of data.
3NF: Every non-key attribute must provide a fact about the key, the whole key, and nothing but the key. So help me Codd.
Post Reply