Question Regarding partitons

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

ramesh_c
Participant

Question Regarding partitons

Post by ramesh_c »

Hi All,

I am new to data stage.I need some information regarding the partition key which need to be appliedon the fallowing stages.

1)Aggregator
2)Stored procedure.
3)filter
4)funnel
5)look up
6)transformer

Please provide me normally which partitions are applied on these stages.
we are applying same partiton on the transformer stage and entire partition on the reference table and hash partition on main table in look up stage .
Please let me know if the partions whcih im am applying is imcorrect.

Thanks,
Ramesh,
ray.wurlod
Participant

Post by ray.wurlod »

Key-based partitioning involves the Hash algorithm unless the partitioning key is a single, essentially unbroken, integer sequence, in which case Modulus consumes fewer resources.
(1) Aggregator: partition on grouping keys
(2) Stored procedure: usually executed in sequential mode
(3) Filter: any partitioning algorithm will do
(4) Funnel: any partitioning algorithm will do
(5) Lookup stage: see below
(6) Transformer stage: any partitioning algorithm will usually do

When any partitioning algorithm will do, one ideally chooses one that gives the most even spread of processing over the available processing nodes, at the same time trying to minimize re-partitioning, particularly in an MPP environment.

With a Lookup stage there are two possibilities.
(a) Any kind of partitioning on the stream input with Entire on the reference input(s)
(b) Identical key-based partitioning on the stream and reference inputs

Other stage types, such as Join, Merge and Remove Duplicates, also need their data to be key partitioned.