Page 1 of 1

Records Getting dropped

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 4:42 am
by scorpion
Hi,

I am getting issue in one of my job,when i tried to run the job the some of the records are getting dropped from transformer stage before target stage.

message i am getting in log is:

Transformer_143,0: Field 'XXX' from input dataset '0' is NULL. Record dropped.

This message still getting even though handled nulls.

my derivation was to handle nulls:

If isNull(Link1.XXX) Then "" Else Trim(Link1.XXX)

Can any one help me on this?

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 4:44 am
by balajisr
Are you sure that you are not using the field anywhere?

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 5:09 am
by scorpion
Yes ,I am sure that I am not using the field anywhere?

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 6:27 am
by Maveric
Check your source meta data in transformer for this field. If the field is defined as Nullable no and a null comes in then datastage will drop the record.

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 6:35 am
by ArndW
I've gotten this error before when I was certain that I'd dealt with nullability in all occurrences of the column in the transform stage... then I discovered that I'd used the column in a constraint. Perhaps you might have the same problem.

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:01 am
by scorpion
hi,

Thanks for the replys ,but i am not using any constraint in my transformer..

still i am getting the same issue.

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:15 am
by ArndW
If your are not using that column in a constraint or in a stage variable and you are certain that each use in a derivation is handled as you have described then you have discovered a bug.

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:32 am
by scorpion
Hi,

I am mapping this 'XXX'field to one of my out put field in a .ds file.

and the derivation i am using like:

If Len(DSLink139.XXX <9 Then "ZZZ" Else DSLink139.XXX[7,3]

this is wrking fine in the records,but some of the records are getting dropped..

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 7:38 am
by ArndW
That derivation is why you are getting dropped records. You need to handle nulls in that derivation as well as in the one you posted earlier. You need to add a IF IsNull... to that clause.

Posted: Wed Jul 25, 2007 8:14 am
by scorpion
Thanks ArndW/All,

This is solved my problem...

Thanks a lot

cheers,