Get Job Category

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
poorna_76
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:42 am

Get Job Category

Post by poorna_76 »

Is there any DSMacro or System Variable to get the Job Category?

For getting the JobName we have DSJobName, iam looking for a similar thing for getting the Job Category.

Thanks in Advance.
csrazdan
Participant
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed May 12, 2004 6:03 pm
Location: Chicago IL

Post by csrazdan »

You can get job category by running following command either on DataStage Administrator GUI or UV command:

LIST DS_JOBS WITH NAME <Your job name>

This command will display Job name, Job Number and Job Category. If Category is NULL it would mean job is available at under /Jobs folder

I don't think DataStage has a Macro or system variable for display category of a job.

Hope it helps........
Assume everything I say or do is positive
poorna_76
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:42 am

Post by poorna_76 »

Thanks csrazdan.

I am familiar with querying the Administrator for the Job Category.
But I would like to display the Job Category in a Sequence EMail Notification message, rather than querying from Administrator.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

No, there is no macro for that - you would need to query the repository. I've done that inline in a job using a UV stage lookup, it's not that difficult to setup.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Code: Select all

Trans("DS_JOBS", DSJobName, 3, "X")
Here DSJobName is a macro.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Really? :?

Huh... gonna have to look that puppy up.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

:!:
Note: This function (Trans()) is available in job sequence expression derivations, not in parallel job expressions. The OP specified job sequence.

The function is documented in the DataStage BASIC manual. It does the same job as UtilityHashLookup() but far more efficiently.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
poorna_76
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 190
Joined: Thu Jul 08, 2004 10:42 am

Post by poorna_76 »

ray.wurlod wrote::!:
Note: This function (Trans()) is available in job sequence expression derivations, not in parallel job expressions. The OP specified job sequence.

The function is documented in the DataStage BASIC manual. It does the same job as UtilityHashLookup() but far more efficiently.
Ray,

I tried to use this in a Job Sequence and i am getting a copilation error,
Variable 'Trans' not defined.

Thanks in Advance.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

There must not be a space between the function name (Trans) and the following left parenthesis.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply