Internal Error?

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
my_stm
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: MY

Internal Error?

Post by my_stm »

Hi,

I develop a simple job. The job just look like in this below
sequential file -> transform -> DB2 (target table)

This is a direct load but when i ran it.
This is the fatal i get
main_program: Internal Error: (obj): transform/transform.C: 1526
Traceback: pureAssertion__13APT_FatalPathFPCcPCci() at 0xd648f654
describeOperator__21APT_TransformOperatorFv() at 0xd7953f5c
wrapDescribeOperator__15APT_OperatorRepFv() at 0xd5d95d68
checkComposite__15APT_OperatorRepFP8APT_Step() at 0xd5da1b48
sequenceAndCheck1Operators__11APT_StepRepFR12APT_ErrorLog() at 0xd5ddb29c
check__11APT_StepRepFv() at 0xd5ddaa8c
check__8APT_StepFv() at 0xd5dd1b20
createAndCheckStep__7APT_OSLFP20APT_OSL_SIL_StepSpecR12APT_ErrorLog() at 0xd72fba9c
APT_ORCHESTRATE_main__FiPPc() at 0x10008c30
APT_PMconductorMain__FPFiPPc_i() at 0xd5ff3f2c
What is the meaning of this error? :oops:

Thank you
daniel0623
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue May 31, 2005 8:17 pm
Location: ShangHai,China

Post by daniel0623 »

Did you install C++ compiler on your OS?
my_stm
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: MY

Post by my_stm »

I will check about this regarding on the installation on C++ from my DBA. Can you pls explain why need C++ installation on it? :oops: Since i didnt use any scripts on this job......

Thanx
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

A Transformer stage in a parallel job generates C++ source code that has to be compiled and linked.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
my_stm
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: MY

Post by my_stm »

i checked on my side and we have C++ compiler .... :roll:
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Now check the following four environment variables in your DataStage Administrator, to ensure that they are correctly set.
APT_COMPILER
APT_COMPILE_OPTIONS
APT_LINKER
APT_LINKER_OPTIONS
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
my_stm
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: MY

Post by my_stm »

I just get the respond from DBA side, they inform us that C/C++ Enterprise Edition V8.0 has expired! :oops:

I will run again the job and check whether fatal error occurred again after they renew the licence. :wink:
my_stm
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 58
Joined: Mon Mar 19, 2007 9:49 pm
Location: MY

Post by my_stm »

Hi,

I have some doubts about how C++ compiler works actually? Currently my compiler is expired but it is supposed can't able to compile any of the job.

I don't understand why i can compile the existing job (eg job A) successfully. When i create copy the job A, i compile it. It gave me the warning that compiler is expired.

Then,I add a environment variable into job properties and compile it job A. It successfully compile but when i add one staging variable into job A then it cant compile anymore. :shock:

Can anyone explain to me what is happening? :oops:

Thank you
nick.bond
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: London

Post by nick.bond »

I'm only guessing but i think you will find that DataStage only recompiles the Transformer code when something has changed, so when you compile a preiously made job it will not try and create the C++ program for the transformer, as soon as you edit the code in the transformer it will need to recompile that program and will fail.
Regards,

Nick.
Post Reply