Page 1 of 1

to run a job before the exit of sequencer

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:02 pm
by madhukar
Hi All,

i have 15 jobs. which runs in 5 streams(different branches) in a sequencer.
suppose a job aborts in the sequencer then i have to run job A and then exit sequence.

how can i achieve this?

Thanks.

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:06 pm
by DSguru2B
If you are on 7.5x then you must be having exception handler. Connect Job A to it. See how exception handler works.

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:25 pm
by madhukar
let me rephrase my question.

i need to run Job A when all the jobs in the sequencer is successful or if any of the job aborts.

thanks.

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:37 pm
by kishoreramachandran
you have the trigger option where you can specify that if the job is successful ( status = 0 that is ok) then do the next job, if the status is not ok then you do a different job as per your choice.

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 12:42 pm
by us1aslam1us
It will be easy to help if you can share the structure of your sequence.

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 1:12 pm
by madhukar
job1->job2-->job3-->job4
job5-->job6-->job7
job8-->job9

after job2 3 branches comes out of it.

whenever sequence exits (success or failure), i need job A to run then exit

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 1:24 pm
by DSguru2B
Build another sequence with two job activities. The first job activity will call your present sequence and the second job activity will run JOB A. The trigger will be "Unconditional".

Posted: Tue Mar 13, 2007 1:34 pm
by us1aslam1us

Code: Select all

                         ---        -->job3-->job4 
                             |     
 job1->job2-------->|               -->job5-->job6-->job7 
                             |     
                         ---        -->job8-->job9 
It looks ugly but have you tried something like this:

For success:

Take links out of job4, job7 and job9 with trigger "OK-Conditional" and feed them to a sequencer. Sequencer (Mode:ALL) output should go to the Job A.

For Failure:

Take links out of each job from 1 thru 9 with Trigger "Failed-Conditional" and feed them back to another sequencer (Mode: Any) whose output should go back to Job A.

Or the best way will be design another sequence an call the Job A depending on the success or Failure of Main Job Sequence.

Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:03 am
by madhukar
Thanks for the replies

i am developing one more sequence which it checks the status of seq1 and runs job A.

i am trying to use UtilityGetRunJobInfo in routine activity and get the status of seq1. Unable to do it.

Can somebody help in this regard?

Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:32 am
by DSguru2B
madhukar wrote:
i am developing one more sequence which it checks the status of seq1 and runs job A.
But why? If the next job A is to be run whether previous jobs are successful or failure, then why check. Just run job A unconditionally.

Posted: Thu Mar 15, 2007 9:05 pm
by ray.wurlod
A sequencer makes an any or all decision, and you probably need one. But the thing you use it IN is called a "job sequence", not a sequencer.