Page 1 of 1

info for dynamic RDBMS

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:02 pm
by kirankota79
Hi........iam using dynamic RDBMS as a source for oracle database. I have two links going out from dynamic RDBMS stage. For each link i am using different sql queries. I want to know how i can execute a sql query for one link first and then go to the next link. i don't want both the links execute simultaneously.

any hints plzzzzzzzzz!

Re: info for dynamic RDBMS

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:38 pm
by kris
kirankota79 wrote:I want to know how i can execute a sql query for one link first and then go to the next link. i don't want both the links execute simultaneously.
What you have is equal to having two different RDBMS stages in a job as sources.

If you are trying to split your process into 2 separate streams but want to have them in same JOB.
RDBMS1 ------>
RDBMS2 -------->
If you want to run one after the other one, think them as two different jobs, not sure what you are going to do after the read but you can do as below
RDBMS1 ------>[rest of the job1]---->[dummy read]------>RDBMS2 -------->[rest of the job2]
dummy read could be from a file(/dev/null) or RDBMS(select x from dual).


~kris

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 1:54 pm
by kirankota79
i want to use the output of one stream(link) as a lookup for the other stream. I know that i can do in two separate jobs.....separate jobs are not working bcoz of the huge size of the table (10 million records)...

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 3:40 pm
by ray.wurlod
Sparse lookup?

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 4:16 pm
by kirankota79
yes

Posted: Wed Mar 07, 2007 4:23 pm
by DSguru2B
I am not sure if sparse lookup is the right way to go as your data volume is huge. Are both the links originating from the same schema? If yes then you can do a sql join. If they are in different schemas then probably best to do a join using the Join stage.