Page 1 of 2

sequence job restarting problem

Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:57 pm
by ds_team
I have a sequence of jobs in my main job named "abc". I if any one of my job in my main job aborts, i want the main job to run from that particular point it got aborted, if i restart the main job. is this possible. if so please let me know the solution.

Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:37 pm
by narasimha
Yes, check the "Add checkpoints so sequence is restartable on failure"
in the Compilation Options of the Job Sequence.

Posted: Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:50 pm
by chulett
What 7x version of DataStage, exactly?

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:15 am
by ds_team
We are using 7.5.1
chulett wrote:What 7x version of DataStage, exactly? ...

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:18 am
by chulett
Then between what Narasimha wrote and the 'Automatically handle activities that fail' option, you're all set. Just wanted to double-check as this functionality wasn't available in early versions.

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:34 am
by ds_team
yes we do have those options and we did check that. Once after running this i can confirm the result. thanks for all your replies :)

Posted: Fri Jan 12, 2007 8:06 am
by DSguru2B
Restart will happen only upon failure. If you job finishes with warnings, the DSEngine will consider it "a finished" job and run from the next job onwards. Just to give you a heads up :P

Posted: Sun Jan 14, 2007 3:19 am
by kumar_s
DSguru2B wrote:Restart will happen only upon failure. If you job finishes with warnings, the DSEngine will consider it "a finished" job and run from the next job onwards. Just to give you a heads up :P
Since the job status is (Finished with warnings), it is considered as finished unless the warning is promoted to fatal Error.

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:19 am
by mystuff
Since the job status is (Finished with warnings), it is considered as finished unless the warning is promoted to fatal Error.
How do we promote the warnings as fatal. Even a single error I want to have the job to abort.

Right now I have

a) Execution Action :Reset if required, then run
b) Triggers : Expression Type : OK - (Conditional)
c) Checked
- Add checkpoints so sequence is restartable on failure
- Automatically handle activities that fail
- Log warnings after activities that finish with status other than OK
- Log report messages after each job run

Still I do get the error as Finished (with warnings) instead of abort

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:23 am
by DSguru2B
Set the warning limit to 1.

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:41 am
by mystuff
Yes I have set the warning limit as 1 in the director

A follow on question - how do we set this when we run the jobs through unix script

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 9:54 am
by narasimha
Check the options for thedsjob command. In specific -warn

Re: sequence job restarting problem

Posted: Fri Oct 05, 2007 11:32 am
by michaeld
ds_team wrote:if i restart the main job. is this possible.
No, if you reset the job then it will run from start. What you need to do is run it again without reseting and it will continue from where it left off. This is assuming that you check of that the job is restartable in the job properties window.

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 7:46 am
by mystuff
Right now I have

a) Execution Action :Reset if required, then run
b) Triggers : Expression Type : OK - (Conditional)
c) Checked
- Add checkpoints so sequence is restartable on failure
- Automatically handle activities that fail
- Log warnings after activities that finish with status other than OK
- Log report messages after each job run
Yes I have set the warning limit as 1 in the director
Even if I have the above set up. I am still finding "Finished with Warnings". And when I run the sequence it starts from the beginning.

I have looked at the job activity and its neighbouring job activities to check whether I have done everything (ie. a & b) as in first quote. Its look ok, but I am unable to understand why I am obtaining finished with warnings.

Note.: this was in a sequence calling a sequence which in turn calls a sequence.[/quote]

Posted: Thu Nov 08, 2007 8:04 am
by chulett
mystuff wrote:Its look ok, but I am unable to understand why I am obtaining finished with warnings.
:? A little lost. You don't understand where the warnings are coming from? Or are you trying to get it to abort so that your Sequence is restartable, but only get warnings instead?