Page 1 of 1

Parallel job is being Aborted -- showing Not enough space

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 3:06 am
by sriramjagannadh
Hi,

We are facing a problem with a Parallel job , which has an input dataset and a lookup dataset is being joined with a LookupStage and then output is copy stage --> Tranesformer --> creating a dataset.

But before creating the output dataset job is aborting, giving this log.


LKP,1: Could not map table file "/path/xx/lookuptable.20061006.drmm0ac (size 552711192 bytes)": Not enough space
Error finalizing / saving table /path/xx/ds_temp/dynLUT143294a5578e98


We have enough space (30GB) free, still the problem.
Please Advice.

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 7:00 am
by ArndW
You do not have 30Gb free in /path/xx.

Posted: Sat Oct 07, 2006 11:34 pm
by sriramjagannadh
ArndW wrote:You do not have 30Gb free in /path/xx. ...
Yes We do have that much memory 30Gb free.

Also checked all the dataset , they were not curropted.

I suspect the lookup stage have some problem.

Posted: Sun Oct 08, 2006 12:58 am
by kumar_s
What is the size of cumulative amount of both the files? Hope you might have checked both /path/xx and /path/xx/ds_temp for availablility of space.

Posted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 9:39 am
by samsuf2002
try using join instead of lookup stage

Posted: Tue Oct 10, 2006 11:13 am
by Ultramundane
If this is AIX I believe that the per-process memory limit for the OSH executable is 512MB. Thus, any lookup stage which attempts to load over 512 MB of memory will abort with an out of space error. However, you can configure the osh executable to use the large memory address by running the following command:

/usr/ccs/bin/ldedit -bmaxdata:0x80000000/dsa osh

Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:19 pm
by laxmi_etl
I am having the similar issue on Px 7.5.2.
Anyone has solution for this??

Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 2:43 pm
by ray.wurlod
Yeah, your hardware vendor!

Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 3:00 pm
by laxmi_etl
Sorry I did not get it??

Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 3:10 pm
by ray.wurlod
If you have not got enough space, whether it's memory or disk space, your hardware vendor will be happy to sell you some more space.

Otherwise you must reduce total demand for space. Run fewer processes simultaneously, tune the job designs (buffer sizes, memory limits for sort, for example), add more file systems to your disk and scratchdisk resources.

Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 5:51 pm
by sriramjagannadh
Thanks

Why silly discussion and diverting the topic to hardware vendor

I am looking for real help and want to discuss in this forum ,like sam advised to use Join Stage and any problems with lookupstage in particular

Posted: Thu Oct 12, 2006 9:06 pm
by ray.wurlod
Simple economics: supply and demand. Either demand fewer resources or supply more. Definitely not "silly" in any sense. There IS a hardware solution.

Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 8:58 am
by Ultramundane
If this is AIX I believe that the per-process memory limit for the OSH executable is 512MB. Thus, any lookup stage which attempts to load over 512 MB of memory will abort with an out of space error. However, you can configure the osh executable to use the large memory address by running the following command:

/usr/ccs/bin/ldedit -bmaxdata:0x80000000/dsa osh

More memory won't help if OSH is aborting due to lookup stage exceeding 512 MB of memory.

Maybe disable memory-mapping?

Posted: Wed Oct 18, 2006 4:04 pm
by jgreve
I wonder if setting these env-vars in your
job would let it run?

Code: Select all

   APT_BUFFERIO_NOMAP=1
   APT_IO_NOMAP=1
The memory-map idea is a great performance
booster, but if your nodes are very busy, there
might not be that much memory available.
Or, as Ultramundane suggested, changing
your kernel settings to have a larger ram-limit
is a good idea.

Disabling memory-mapping is probably
easier, however.
Good luck:
John G.
sriramjagannadh wrote:Thanks

Why silly discussion and diverting the topic to hardware vendor

I am looking for real help and want to discuss in this forum ,like sam advised to use Join Stage and any problems with lookupstage in particular

Posted: Wed Oct 25, 2006 4:18 am
by elavenil
We had a similar problem in my earlier project so check the file size limit for the user that is used to execute the job. And lookup table size might have crossed that limit. Solution would be increase the limit for the user and execute the job.

HTWH.

Regards
Saravanan