Parallel job is being Aborted -- showing Not enough space

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
sriramjagannadh
Participant
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:14 am

Parallel job is being Aborted -- showing Not enough space

Post by sriramjagannadh »

Hi,

We are facing a problem with a Parallel job , which has an input dataset and a lookup dataset is being joined with a LookupStage and then output is copy stage --> Tranesformer --> creating a dataset.

But before creating the output dataset job is aborting, giving this log.


LKP,1: Could not map table file "/path/xx/lookuptable.20061006.drmm0ac (size 552711192 bytes)": Not enough space
Error finalizing / saving table /path/xx/ds_temp/dynLUT143294a5578e98


We have enough space (30GB) free, still the problem.
Please Advice.
Thanks & Regards
Sriram.
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

You do not have 30Gb free in /path/xx.
sriramjagannadh
Participant
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:14 am

Post by sriramjagannadh »

ArndW wrote:You do not have 30Gb free in /path/xx. ...
Yes We do have that much memory 30Gb free.

Also checked all the dataset , they were not curropted.

I suspect the lookup stage have some problem.
Thanks & Regards
Sriram.
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

What is the size of cumulative amount of both the files? Hope you might have checked both /path/xx and /path/xx/ds_temp for availablility of space.
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
samsuf2002
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 397
Joined: Wed Apr 12, 2006 2:28 pm
Location: Tennesse

Post by samsuf2002 »

try using join instead of lookup stage
hi sam here
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Post by Ultramundane »

If this is AIX I believe that the per-process memory limit for the OSH executable is 512MB. Thus, any lookup stage which attempts to load over 512 MB of memory will abort with an out of space error. However, you can configure the osh executable to use the large memory address by running the following command:

/usr/ccs/bin/ldedit -bmaxdata:0x80000000/dsa osh
laxmi_etl
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:10 am

Post by laxmi_etl »

I am having the similar issue on Px 7.5.2.
Anyone has solution for this??
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Yeah, your hardware vendor!
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
laxmi_etl
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 117
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2006 9:10 am

Post by laxmi_etl »

Sorry I did not get it??
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

If you have not got enough space, whether it's memory or disk space, your hardware vendor will be happy to sell you some more space.

Otherwise you must reduce total demand for space. Run fewer processes simultaneously, tune the job designs (buffer sizes, memory limits for sort, for example), add more file systems to your disk and scratchdisk resources.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
sriramjagannadh
Participant
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:14 am

Post by sriramjagannadh »

Thanks

Why silly discussion and diverting the topic to hardware vendor

I am looking for real help and want to discuss in this forum ,like sam advised to use Join Stage and any problems with lookupstage in particular
Thanks & Regards
Sriram.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Simple economics: supply and demand. Either demand fewer resources or supply more. Definitely not "silly" in any sense. There IS a hardware solution.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Ultramundane
Participant
Posts: 407
Joined: Mon Jun 27, 2005 8:54 am
Location: Walker, Michigan
Contact:

Post by Ultramundane »

If this is AIX I believe that the per-process memory limit for the OSH executable is 512MB. Thus, any lookup stage which attempts to load over 512 MB of memory will abort with an out of space error. However, you can configure the osh executable to use the large memory address by running the following command:

/usr/ccs/bin/ldedit -bmaxdata:0x80000000/dsa osh

More memory won't help if OSH is aborting due to lookup stage exceeding 512 MB of memory.
jgreve
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Sep 25, 2006 4:25 pm

Maybe disable memory-mapping?

Post by jgreve »

I wonder if setting these env-vars in your
job would let it run?

Code: Select all

   APT_BUFFERIO_NOMAP=1
   APT_IO_NOMAP=1
The memory-map idea is a great performance
booster, but if your nodes are very busy, there
might not be that much memory available.
Or, as Ultramundane suggested, changing
your kernel settings to have a larger ram-limit
is a good idea.

Disabling memory-mapping is probably
easier, however.
Good luck:
John G.
sriramjagannadh wrote:Thanks

Why silly discussion and diverting the topic to hardware vendor

I am looking for real help and want to discuss in this forum ,like sam advised to use Join Stage and any problems with lookupstage in particular
elavenil
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 467
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2002 10:20 pm
Location: Singapore

Post by elavenil »

We had a similar problem in my earlier project so check the file size limit for the user that is used to execute the job. And lookup table size might have crossed that limit. Solution would be increase the limit for the user and execute the job.

HTWH.

Regards
Saravanan
Post Reply