Number of stages in a project

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
koolnitz
Participant
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 5:39 am

Number of stages in a project

Post by koolnitz »

Hi All,

For some reason, I need to get counts of (i) no. of jobs, (ii) no. of stages, used in my project.

I know how to get the count for (i).
Is there any way to find out the count for (ii)? Of course other than opening all the jobs to count manually.

Thanks!
Nitin Jain | India

If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something.
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Code: Select all

Select 
   Count(*) As Cnt
From 
   DS_JOBS
Where
   NAME NOT LIKE '\%'
;

Code: Select all

Select 
   Count(*) As Cnt
From 
   DS_JOBOBJECTS
Where
   OLETYPE LIKE '%Stage'
;
Mamu Kim
Mike
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1021
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2002 6:01 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Post by Mike »

I hope this isn't some pointy-haired manager's way of measuring productivity. :roll: They need to be careful about what they measure. It won't take long before developers start adding dozens of useless stages to jobs if that is how their productivity will be measured.

Mike
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Mike is correct. You may want to count links, columns, routines and whatever else that takes time. Columns would be very difficult.
Mamu Kim
koolnitz
Participant
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 5:39 am

Post by koolnitz »

Kim, Thanks alot for providing the SQLs.

Answering to Mike, it's a policy in my organization to collect number of lines of code used in all the projects. This is basically to measure how much coding has been done. Unfortunately (or fortunately :wink: ) DS doesn't have code in lines. So we thought of providing them the no. of jobs and stages in the project.

Do you have any better idea to measure the work done on a DS project?

Thanks guys!
Nitin Jain | India

If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something.
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Columns more closely relates to lines of code. Do a search on complexity. We have had several discussions on it.
Mamu Kim
koolnitz
Participant
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 5:39 am

Post by koolnitz »

How about counting the number of lines in .dsx file? Just a thought!

Next questions that might come up are..
What components to export?
Full export or job designs only?
Are we really measuring the work done (resource spent) based on this number?

I know, it's not et al intelligent, but I need to provide the measure of work done in DS in terms of lines of code :?

Btw, I have currently 138 jobs and 1571 stages in my project. And there are 1432320 lines in .dsx file (exported only Job designs, Shared containers and table definitions).
Nitin Jain | India

If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

koolnitz wrote:Kim, Thanks alot for providing the SQLs.

Answering to Mike, it's a policy in my organization to collect number of lines of code used in all the projects. This is basically to measure how much coding has been done. Unfortunately (or fortunately :wink: ) DS doesn't have code in lines. So we thought of providing them the no. of jobs and stages in the project.

Do you have any better idea to measure the work done on a DS project?

Thanks guys!
Challenge them.

Report that number of lines of code = zero.

Let us know how they react.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply