Date type cast

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

ahmedwaseem2000
Premium Member
Premium Member

Date type cast

Post by ahmedwaseem2000 »

Hi ,

I am very very new to DS. I am trying to find max of a date column and a time column. when i tried to find the max date using aggregator transformation. i get the below mentioned error.
Error when checking operator: When binding input interface field "XXX" to field "XXX": No default type conversion from type "time" to type "dfloat".
Error when checking operator: When binding input interface field "YYY" to field "YYY": No default type conversion from type "date" to type "dfloat".
Well, after my further analysis i could find that there is no direct type cast between Date and dfloat. so, the i could figure out 2 ways to achieve my goal.

1st: to convert the date to dayssincedate, when i try to do that i get the below error. However, to achive this conversion i am not able find the function. could any one out there help me pleaseeee???

APT_CombinedOperatorController,0: Caught exception from runLocally(): APT_ParseError: Parsing parameters "CCYY-MM-DD" for conversion "int32=days_since_from_date[**********](date)": APT_Conversion_DaysSince_Date: Invalid Date [CCYY-MM-DD] used for days_since_from_date type conversion.
2nd way is to convert the date field to integer and from integer to float.

to achieve both the solutions i need to figure out the function that i can use in a transformer(or any other stage) to type cast.

Thanks in advance to let me know the solution for this, Also, if there exists any other easier way to fix this issue please let me know.

Thanks again,
Waseem
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member

Post by kumar_s »

Check the date format that you have entred. "CCYY-MM-DD"
Instead you can convert to julian date, which also gives you integer as output.