Page 1 of 1

Viewing/Writing Contents of a DataSet from a OS

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 9:34 am
by sidharth
Hi All,

If i fire a unix command,
say, "cat file.ds" (where file.ds is a dataset) , it shows junk data. I understand that contents in Data Set are in orchestrate format.

Is there a way i can view the contents of a DataSet from the DS Server Operating System (example : AIX Unix) using any command?

Is there a way i can write to a dataset from a DS Server Operating System ? I know, its quite ambitious, but couldnt resist asking this question.

Thanks,
Sidharth

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 12:10 pm
by DSguru2B
Check out Roy's reply in this post.

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 2:43 pm
by ray.wurlod
"file.ds" is not the Data Set. It is the Data Set control file. (And it's definitely not junk!)

The data in the Data Set are in separate files in the directories identified as disk resource in your configuration file. These, too, are in DataStage internal form (binary numbers, for example), so you would interpret them also as "junk".

There are utilities for viewing the contents of Data Sets; there is a GUI available from the manager, or the orchadmin command available from the operating system.

Posted: Wed Sep 13, 2006 7:41 pm
by kumar_s
orchadmin -dump should be more appropriate for your requirment.

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 9:22 am
by sidharth
Hi all,
Thank you all for the explanation. Now i have a better idea of things.But I am not still out of the woods.

I try to execute the orchadmin commands from the command prompt, but i am facing the below errors.

Code: Select all

C:\Ascential\DataStage\PXEngine\bin>orchadmin dump -name test.ds
The environment variable APT_ORCHHOME can not be empty.
Please assign it to the proper directory in the DataStage PX install area.

C:\Ascential\DataStage\PXEngine\bin>dsrecords
The environment variable APT_ORCHHOME can not be empty.
Please assign it to the proper directory in the DataStage PX install area.

C:\Ascential\DataStage\PXEngine\bin>osh
The environment variable APT_ORCHHOME can not be empty.
Please assign it to the proper directory in the DataStage PX install area.
I tried to call these functions from the shell command too, but am not successfull.

Code: Select all

C:\Ascential\DataStage\PXEngine\bin>sh
$ pwd
C:/Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine/bin
$  orchadmin.exe
orchadmin.exe: not found
$ dsrecords
dsrecords: not found
$ exit
C:\Ascential\DataStage\PXEngine\bin>
I checked the environment varaiables(APT_ORCHHOME) in the Admiistrator module, its set.
Project > Environment Button > Parallel Area > APT_ORCHHOME > "C:\Ascential\DataStage\PXEngine"


My Environment
--------------
Data Stage Engine : 7.5x2
OS : Windows 2000 Server with SP4 with .NET 2003

Thanks for the helping hand.

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 2:49 pm
by ray.wurlod
That APT_ORCHHOME is set in the Administrator module does not necessarily mean that it's set for you, the interactive user. You must make sure that it is explicitly set. You can prove that it's set using a set command.

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 6:02 pm
by kumar_s
Include an entry in dsenv which points to "..Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine"

Posted: Sun Sep 17, 2006 10:12 pm
by ray.wurlod
That's only useful if you source dsenv prior to executing DS commands. It may be better to edit the .profile file.

Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 5:41 am
by thompsonp
Did you manage to solve this?

I have the same problem. I know what to do on a Unix install but is there an equivalent to the dsenv script for a Windows installation of PX that I can run to setup the environment when logging in as someone other than the dsadm user?

Posted: Fri Oct 27, 2006 8:20 am
by ray.wurlod
You can set environment variables using Control Panel > System. Choose the Advanced tab and, from there, the Environment command button. You may need to re-boot (Microsoft's solution to everything) for the changes to take effect.

Posted: Mon Oct 30, 2006 10:02 am
by thompsonp
Thanks Ray.

I set APT_ORCHHOME as an environment variable for my user. There was no need to reboot for it to take effect.

I then set APT_CONFIG_FILE from the command prompt and was able to run the orchadmin command.