Multiple Instnces in both Parent-Child Jobs

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
saikrishna
Participant
Posts: 158
Joined: Tue Mar 15, 2005 3:16 am

Multiple Instnces in both Parent-Child Jobs

Post by saikrishna »

Hi ALL

We have designed 2 jobs in a parent-child relationship way, where the parent job is

calling the child job using UtilityJobRun for each row being extracted in the parent

job.

We are using "Multiple Instance" Option in both child as well as parent jobs to have

parallelism.

Our requirement is to run parallelly the child job for multiple countries.
Each country data is present in multiple partitions, so the parent job is used to

extract the partitions present in a single country and call the child job for that

partition of the country.

The parent job is designed in the following way

||DB2||---->||TFm||-->||File||

The child job is designed as follows:

||DB2||-->||Tfm(acting like router)||--> Here multiple ||Tfm||'s are

there...and are explained as follows.
The child job iss extracting data from DB2 database table, and one ||Tfm|| is acting

like a router, after that lot of ||Tfm||'s each one for each route (here a route

depends on Country_Cd) and finally it goes to different files.

You might understand that child job is designed in such a way that it routes the

requests appropriately depending on the country_cd.



If we run the parent job for one country, it is working fine. (for single instance)

But if we run the parent job for multiple countries, (means multiple instances, Here

we tried for 2 instances) we are getting the following error.

Childjob.2#5.BASIC_Transformer_Router.DSLink_SpainInput: ds_ipcopen() - Error in

open(/tmp/ade.SCIPROD.Childjob.2#5.BASIC_Transformer_Router-BASIC_Tfm_Spain.DSLink_S

painInput) - No such file or directory


In above BASIC_Transformer_Router.DSLink_SpainInput represents the link between

Router and the BASIC_Tfm_Spain Transformer.


Note: The multiple parent instances calling multiple child instances, We are taking

care of that.



If any one could help us in this regard would be great to us....

Thanking you in advance
Sai
kumar_s
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5245
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2005 11:00 pm

Post by kumar_s »

I guess the temp file produces by one Basic transformer is geting cleared by another which is running in parallel.
But why Basic Transformer in PX. Why cant the same routering function be made in PX transformer.
The main reason for ds_ipcopen() would be due to this.
Impossible doesn't mean 'it is not possible' actually means... 'NOBODY HAS DONE IT SO FAR'
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Instead of running multiple instances of parallel jobs, why not just use a configuration file with more processing nodes? You can have more than one processing node on the same machine.

Make sure, however, that you don't force sequential mode operation by writing via a Sequential File stage; use a File Set or Data Set stage, and write subseqently from that to the final result file.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply