Help simple configuration

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
goffinw
Participant
Posts: 27
Joined: Thu Nov 18, 2004 6:50 am
Location: Belgium

Help simple configuration

Post by goffinw »

Hi,

This is my first test of a trivial parallel DB2/UDB Enterprise stage job. Just to check the new (and first) DSEE setup.
Can anyone tell me what i'm doing wrong.

The DSEE server is the same one as the DB2EEE server.

I gave the following config file:
{
node "node1"
{
fastname "englfar1"
pools "db2"
resource disk "/export/home/rdcdsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/export/home/rdcdsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
node "node2"
{
fastname "englfar1"
pools "db2"
resource disk "/export/home/rdcdsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/export/home/rdcdsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
}

Error Msg
When I try to view the table data through a DB2 UDB Enterprise Stage, I get the following error output:
##I TFCN 000001 14:58:56(000) <main_program>
Ascential DataStage(tm) Enterprise Edition 7.5.0.1
Copyright (c) 2004, 1997-2004 Ascential Software Corporation.
All Rights Reserved


##I TUTL 000031 14:58:56(001) <main_program> The open files limit is 100; raising to 65536.
##I TOSH 000002 14:58:56(002) <main_program> orchgeneral: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 14:58:56(003) <main_program> orchsort: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 14:58:56(004) <main_program> orchstats: loaded
##I TFSC 000001 14:58:56(005) <main_program> APT configuration file: /export/home/rdcdsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Configurations/wngr1.apt
>##F TFSC 000000 14:58:56(006) <main_program> Fatal Error: The set of available nodes for op0 (parallel APT_LicenseCountOp in APT_LicenseOperator).
>is empty. This set is influenced by calls to addNodeConstraint(),
>addResourceConstraint() and setAvailableNodes(). If none of these
>functions have been called on this operator, then the default node
>pool must be empty.
>This step has 1 dataset:
>ds0: {op0[] (parallel APT_LicenseCountOp in APT_LicenseOperator)
> >eCollectAny
> op1[] (sequential APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator)}
>
>It has 2 operators:
>op0[] {(parallel APT_LicenseCountOp in APT_LicenseOperator)
> }
>op1[] {(sequential APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator)
> }
>

Thanks in advance,
Wim Goffin
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

Wim,

Add "" to pools.

You need to read up on how the $APT_CONFIG "pools" parameter works (Chapter 58 in the Parallel Job Deverloper's Guide) and that will explain why your job has no available nodes for processing.
shivadas
Participant
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Jun 12, 2007 12:10 am

Re: Help simple configuration

Post by shivadas »

Hi,

Even i am getting the same error while executing the parallel job,
Can you let me know what is the soluction.

error log:

##I TFCN 000001 16:15:01(000) <main_program>
Ascential DataStage(tm) Enterprise Edition 7.5
Copyright (c) 2004, 1997-2004 Ascential Software Corporation.
All Rights Reserved


##I TOSH 000002 16:15:01(001) <main_program> orchgeneral: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 16:15:01(002) <main_program> orchsort: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 16:15:01(003) <main_program> orchstats: loaded
##W TCOS 000049 16:15:02(000) <main_program> Parameter specified but not used in flow: DSProjectMapName
##I TFSC 000001 16:15:02(005) <main_program> APT configuration file: D:/Configurations/default.apt
>##F TFSC 000000 16:15:03(000) <main_program> Fatal Error: The set of available nodes for op0 (sequential ODBC_Enterprise_3).
>is empty. This set is influenced by calls to addNodeConstraint(),
>addResourceConstraint() and setAvailableNodes(). If none of these
>functions have been called on this operator, then the default node
>pool must be empty.
>This step has 3 datasets:
>ds0: {op0[] (sequential ODBC_Enterprise_3)
> >eCollectAny
> op1[] (sequential _Head)}
>ds1: {op1[] (sequential _Head)
> >eCollectAny
> op2[] (sequential _PEEK_IDENT_)}
>ds2: {op2[] (sequential _PEEK_IDENT_)
> >eCollectAny
> op3[] (sequential _ABORT_IDENT_)}
>
>It has 4 operators:
>op0[] {(sequential ODBC_Enterprise_3)
> }
>op1[] {(sequential _Head)
> }
>op2[] {(sequential _PEEK_IDENT_)
> }
>op3[] {(sequential _ABORT_IDENT_)
> }
>
>
Thanks
Shivadas
goffinw wrote:Hi,

This is my first test of a trivial parallel DB2/UDB Enterprise stage job. Just to check the new (and first) DSEE setup.
Can anyone tell me what i'm doing wrong.

The DSEE server is the same one as the DB2EEE server.

I gave the following config file:
{
node "node1"
{
fastname "englfar1"
pools "db2"
resource disk "/export/home/rdcdsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/export/home/rdcdsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
node "node2"
{
fastname "englfar1"
pools "db2"
resource disk "/export/home/rdcdsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Datasets" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/export/home/rdcdsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Scratch" {pools ""}
}
}

Error Msg
When I try to view the table data through a DB2 UDB Enterprise Stage, I get the following error output:
##I TFCN 000001 14:58:56(000) <main_program>
Ascential DataStage(tm) Enterprise Edition 7.5.0.1
Copyright (c) 2004, 1997-2004 Ascential Software Corporation.
All Rights Reserved


##I TUTL 000031 14:58:56(001) <main_program> The open files limit is 100; raising to 65536.
##I TOSH 000002 14:58:56(002) <main_program> orchgeneral: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 14:58:56(003) <main_program> orchsort: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 14:58:56(004) <main_program> orchstats: loaded
##I TFSC 000001 14:58:56(005) <main_program> APT configuration file: /export/home/rdcdsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Configurations/wngr1.apt
>##F TFSC 000000 14:58:56(006) <main_program> Fatal Error: The set of available nodes for op0 (parallel APT_LicenseCountOp in APT_LicenseOperator).
>is empty. This set is influenced by calls to addNodeConstraint(),
>addResourceConstraint() and setAvailableNodes(). If none of these
>functions have been called on this operator, then the default node
>pool must be empty.
>This step has 1 dataset:
>ds0: {op0[] (parallel APT_LicenseCountOp in APT_LicenseOperator)
> >eCollectAny
> op1[] (sequential APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator)}
>
>It has 2 operators:
>op0[] {(parallel APT_LicenseCountOp in APT_LicenseOperator)
> }
>op1[] {(sequential APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator)
> }
>

Thanks in advance,
Wim Goffin
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Read the message in the green bar at the top.
Now start a new thread with your specific question.


This may or may not be the same problem as the year-old thread that you hijacked. Because you did not post your configuration file we have no way of knowing that.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply