Page 2 of 2

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 8:30 am
by mspanda
We have created the Parallel job using Advanced Transformer and we were not able to use any of the Transformation functions in the job. Later we changed PX transformer with Basic Transformer and used functions and it worked out. But in Basic transformer we cannot use Type conversion functions which are available in PX transformer. We would appreciate if any one can suggest us any solutions.

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:13 am
by ray.wurlod
Begin with a specification. There should be no reason not to use the parallel Transformer stage. If necessary you can create parallel routines that it can invoke.

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 12:39 pm
by mctny
a naive workaround would be to try to use one basic and then a PX transformer or the other way around.

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 6:01 pm
by sanjay
Hi

Try one thing.

remove target oracle stage and use sequential file . see whether you are able to view data with sequential file . if you able to then use that sequential file to manually load in table using sql loader in command mode . so that you are sure probelm is not in transformer or sqlloader.

Thanks
Sanjay


mspanda wrote:We have created the Parallel job using Advanced Transformer and we were not able to use any of the Transformation functions in the job. Later we changed PX transformer with Basic Transformer and used functions and it worked out. But in Basic transformer we cannot use Type conversion functions which are available in PX transformer. We would appreciate if any one can suggest us any solutions.

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 9:58 pm
by mspanda
Below are the cases which i tried,

My Table Structure is as below for Source,

EMP_SRC

EMPNO_SRC
ENAME_SRC

My Table Structure is as below for Target,

EMP_TGT

EMPNO_TGT
ENAME_TGT

Source/Target is Oracle

Case 1 :
Target Option is set to Load
Used PX tranformer
Created a PX job

This is one to one mapping with out any functions.

This works fine.

Case 2 :
Target Option is set to Load
Used PX tranformer
Created a PX job

We have used trim function for the Source Columns as below,

TRIM(EMPNO_SRC)
TRIM(ENAME_SRC)

This is throwing errors as below,

EMP_TGT:Describe failed because of a missing column for EMPNO_TGT
main_program: Could not check all operators because of previous error(s)
main_program: Creation of a step finished with status = FAILED.
Job EMPJOB aborted


Case 3 :
Target Option is set to Load
Used Basic tranformer
Created a PX job

We have used trim function for the Source Columns as below,

TRIM(EMPNO_SRC)
TRIM(ENAME_SRC)

This works fine.

Case 4 :
Target Option is set to Load
Used PX tranformer
Created a PX job
We have changed the source and target table column names to be similar.

We have used trim function for the Source Columns as below

TRIM(EMPNO_TGT)
TRIM(ENAME_TGT)

This works fine.

Since the case 2 is very crucial for me as all my existing jobs needs to use advanced functions which are available in PX tranformer.

Please suggest us any solutions.

Rgds,

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:17 pm
by sanjay
Hi

can you uncheck runtime propogation from project level and then try .

Sanjay
mspanda wrote:Below are the cases which i tried,

My Table Structure is as below for Source,

EMP_SRC

EMPNO_SRC
ENAME_SRC

My Table Structure is as below for Target,

EMP_TGT

EMPNO_TGT
ENAME_TGT

Source/Target is Oracle

Case 1 :
Target Option is set to Load
Used PX tranformer
Created a PX job

This is one to one mapping with out any functions.

This works fine.

Case 2 :
Target Option is set to Load
Used PX tranformer
Created a PX job

We have used trim function for the Source Columns as below,

TRIM(EMPNO_SRC)
TRIM(ENAME_SRC)

This is throwing errors as below,

EMP_TGT:Describe failed because of a missing column for EMPNO_TGT
main_program: Could not check all operators because of previous error(s)
main_program: Creation of a step finished with status = FAILED.
Job EMPJOB aborted


Case 3 :
Target Option is set to Load
Used Basic tranformer
Created a PX job

We have used trim function for the Source Columns as below,

TRIM(EMPNO_SRC)
TRIM(ENAME_SRC)

This works fine.

Case 4 :
Target Option is set to Load
Used PX tranformer
Created a PX job
We have changed the source and target table column names to be similar.

We have used trim function for the Source Columns as below

TRIM(EMPNO_TGT)
TRIM(ENAME_TGT)

This works fine.

Since the case 2 is very crucial for me as all my existing jobs needs to use advanced functions which are available in PX tranformer.

Please suggest us any solutions.

Rgds,

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 10:28 pm
by mspanda
Sanjay,

We have already set this option at the project level.

Rgds

Posted: Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:17 pm
by sanjay
Hi

without trim function its working means problem in trim function . try to select trim function from popup list of all function .complie and run again


Sanjay




mspanda wrote:Sanjay,

We have already set this option at the project level.

Rgds

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:02 am
by mspanda
We have done the same still it's not working.

Posted: Wed Jun 27, 2007 1:09 am
by ArndW
What datatypes are EMPNO_SRC and ENAME_SRC (both your actual database definition and that which you are using in your job)?