Page 2 of 3

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:26 pm
by DSguru2B
The design shoudl be
Execute_Command_Activity ------- > Job_Activity
In the parameters section, where you apply default values, you are to provide that derivation. Is that your design, if not then can you please draw it out, enclosed in quotes so that it makes sense.
Also the part before the .$CommandOutput, should be the stage name of your Execute Command Stage.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:43 pm
by kishoreramachandran
getting erro conroller problem fatal error from @coordinator.
the design is exactly what you have told

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:47 pm
by DSguru2B
What is the derivation you are providing inside the jobactivity for your parameter. Also what is the name of your execute command stage. Copy paste them here.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 2:54 pm
by kishoreramachandran
o_date Execute_Command_0.$CommandOutput
t_id Execute_Command_0.$CommandOutput

are the job activity parameter name and value expression and execute command which is before this is just cat filename whch contains both the parameters.( in 2 lines one below other)

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:00 pm
by DSguru2B
Is that your derivation. Use the Field() function code that i posted earlier to get everything before the @FM.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:13 pm
by kishoreramachandran
i gave field(Execute_Command_0.$CommandOutput,@FM,1) for both the parameters (actually they are coming from the same file) dss set param error code = 4

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:17 pm
by DSguru2B
Ok now you tell me that they are coming from the same file. I thought you wanted to keep one file per parameter value. How does it look like in the file? Also tell me which parameter value belongs to what parameter.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:20 pm
by kishoreramachandran
the 2 values have been concatenated to the same file and so now i have only 1 file.
1st line is date and 2nd line is a number

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:30 pm
by DSguru2B
Ok, for o_date provide

Code: Select all

FIELD(Execute_Command_0.$CommandOutput,@FM,1,1)
For the t_id provide

Code: Select all

FIELD(Execute_Command_0.$CommandOutput,@FM,2,1)
This should work.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:39 pm
by kishoreramachandran
still the same error

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:41 pm
by DSguru2B
you sure there are only two lines in your source file. The first one is the date and the second one is the id. Nothing else is present. I just built a dummy job and tested out the same. It works like a charm for me. Do you have the first line as Column Names in your text file?

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:45 pm
by kishoreramachandran
the date is in double quotes and the 2nd line is a number

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:48 pm
by kishoreramachandran
the first line is not column name

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:50 pm
by DSguru2B
How have you defined them in the job. Are they defined as string or , date and integer. If latter then remove the quotes. If they are defined as string then quotes wouldnt hurt. They will be passed along with quotes.

Posted: Mon Jan 22, 2007 3:53 pm
by kishoreramachandran
in the job properties of the sequence job am i supposed to define anything?
I am calling a job in this job sequence, in that job in the properties the variables are defined.