Page 2 of 2

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 1:56 pm
by abc123
Yes, the same id.

Posted: Wed Dec 13, 2006 2:33 pm
by DSguru2B
Go to your dsenv file in $DSHOME and make a backup copy for it.
VI the dsenv file and add the following to SHLIB_PATH

Code: Select all

SHLIB_PATH=/home/dsadm/Ascential/DataStage/PXEngine/lib:SHLIB_PATH; export SHLIB_PATH
save it and then execute it as follows

Code: Select all

. ./dsenv
then try the following

Code: Select all

$APT_ORCHHOME/bin/dsrecords myfile.ds
That should work.

Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 11:41 am
by abc123
I know this is little bit old but I am trying to do this now. Can anyone tell me where in dsenv file I should put this SHLIB_PATH? Can it be anywhere?

Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:20 pm
by DSguru2B
You can put it anywhere. For now, take a back of the dsenv file as i suggested earlier and put that line at the end. Save it and then execute it.

Posted: Fri Dec 29, 2006 3:43 pm
by ray.wurlod
It's possible that DSHOME is not set, in which case cd $DSHOME will put you in your home directory, which is not where you want/need to be. After the cd command, issue a pwd command to determine to which directory you are currently attached.

:idea: If you're going to do a lot of work at the server command prompt, edit your .profile file to set DSHOME and to execute the $DSHOME/dsenv script.

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 11:49 am
by abc123
My dsenv file does not have a SHLIB_PATH. There is a LD_LIBRARY_PATH. Am I getting this error due to not having SHLIB_PATH in my dsenv file?

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:39 pm
by ray.wurlod
If you are getting "command not found" the problem lies with your PATH environment variable - not SHLIB_PATH, LD_LIBRARY_PATH or anything else.

Fix that first. It needs to include $APT_ORCHHOME/bin.
Of course, you must have previously set APT_ORCHHOME, or hard code the pathname in PATH.

You will also need to have APT_CONFIG_FILE set, since a Data Set is tied in some sense (number of nodes) to the configuration file in use when it was created.

Executing the $DSHOME/dsenv script (assuming DSHOME is set, see my earlier post) should correctly set LD_LIBRARY_PATH. You will learn whether this is so if executing dsrecords generates a message indicating that a file whose name ends in ".so" is not found.

But get PATH fixed first.

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 3:46 pm
by DSguru2B
abc123 wrote:My dsenv file does not have a SHLIB_PATH. There is a LD_LIBRARY_PATH. Am I getting this error due to not having SHLIB_PATH in my dsenv file?
NO. You need either one of those. If your on HP-UX only then you will need SHLIB_PATH. I think the rest of the platforms use LD_LIBRARY_PATH.

Posted: Mon Jan 29, 2007 4:15 pm
by ray.wurlod
... except for the ones that use LIBPATH

But the initial problem is with PATH, not with any of these.