Multiple Update issue

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
akarsh
Participant
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 4:03 am
Location: Pune

Multiple Update issue

Post by akarsh »

Hi,

I am trying to update a ORACLE table using oracle connector in DS 8.7 through before and after job SQL.
It worked for me once but if i change the value for doing Unit testing its not giving proper results.
Please advise what needs to be done in such case.
Thanks,
Akarsh Kapoor
SURA
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1229
Joined: Sat Jul 14, 2007 5:16 am
Location: Sydney

Re: Multiple Update issue

Post by SURA »

What you tried? share the code.
Thanks
Ram
----------------------------------
Revealing your ignorance is fine, because you get a chance to learn.
akarsh
Participant
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 4:03 am
Location: Pune

Re: Multiple Update issue

Post by akarsh »

In Before SQL just giving as

UPDATE
Table name
SET
Clm = 'A'
WHERE Clm In (' ','B','C','E','9') ;

Same query is working in DB but not updating through DS.
Thanks,
Akarsh Kapoor
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Multiple Update issue

Post by ArndW »

UPDATE
Table name
SET
Clm = 'A'
WHERE Clm In (' ','B','C','E','9') ;

What are you actually using as the "Table name" value?
akarsh
Participant
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 4:03 am
Location: Pune

Re: Multiple Update issue

Post by akarsh »

It's actual oracle DB table name which i need to update.
Thanks,
Akarsh Kapoor
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

in that case, did you include the schema name?
akarsh
Participant
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 4:03 am
Location: Pune

Post by akarsh »

ArndW wrote:in that case, did you include the schema name? ...
Yes.. :(
Thanks,
Akarsh Kapoor
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

What is your error message?
akarsh
Participant
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 4:03 am
Location: Pune

Post by akarsh »

There was no error msg. It was some DB connection issue.

Its resolved now. Thnaks for your help. :)
Thanks,
Akarsh Kapoor
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Any chance you can elaborate on what "some DB connection issue" means? :?

It will help future searchers...
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
akarsh
Participant
Posts: 51
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 4:03 am
Location: Pune

Post by akarsh »

Actually what happend i was using sqldeveloper to access Oracle DB.

When i was updating records for unit testing i was doing commit but it was not working then i used commit option given in sqldeveloper which worked.

After that when i ran before and after SQL it worked perfect for me.
So basically it was commit statement which was not working and causing to not update DB for unit testing. It was not related to DS.
Thanks,
Akarsh Kapoor
Post Reply