Increase in number of instances of the job increases time.

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
chetan.c
Participant
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:09 am
Location: Bangalore

Increase in number of instances of the job increases time.

Post by chetan.c »

Hi ,
I have a multiple instance job which im calling through a sequence job which is also multiple instance.

There is another sequence where i call instances of the sequence.

Code: Select all

Master_Sequence--->Sequence(multiple instance)--->Parallel job(multipleinstance)
.

In the master sequence if the number of instance is 2 time consumption is 2 mins per instance.

If the instance is increased to 5 time consumption is 4:10 mins.
Almost 50% increase in execution time. :?
Kindly let me know why this could be happening?

Thanks,
Chetan
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Resource contention. More != faster/better. Sometimes also known as the Law of Diminishing Returns.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
chetan.c
Participant
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:09 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by chetan.c »

:) Oh but i have to process that volume.One instance processes around 100 mb data and i have 5 instances to touch 500 mb.
Is there a workaround for this?


Thanks,
Chetan.C
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Certainly. One workaround is to run on more powerful hardware. Simply adding more processing nodes (on other machines) may suffice.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:16 am
Location: USA

Post by qt_ky »

It can depend on if the bottleneck is memory, CPU, disk, network. Tune the job design first. Also check any OS settings that can impose limits.
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
chetan.c
Participant
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:09 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by chetan.c »

Thanks Ray, I have very little knowledge on that. Reading up on that and searching through the forum for that.

qt_ky wrote:It can depend on if the bottleneck is memory, CPU, disk, network. Tune the job design first. Also check any OS settings that can impose limits.
Thanks eric.
Can you give me some pointers on how I can check CPU and disk.

Thanks,
Chetan.C
qt_ky
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 2895
Joined: Wed Aug 03, 2011 6:16 am
Location: USA

Post by qt_ky »

The topic link below highlights many options. If you go the unix command route, then I suggest you work locally with your unix admin for help on those...

viewtopic.php?t=144892
Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life. - Confucius
chetan.c
Participant
Posts: 112
Joined: Tue Jan 17, 2012 2:09 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by chetan.c »

Thanks Eric.

Will work on it and post if i make any improvements.

Thanks,
Chetan.C
Post Reply