Export of Datastage job from command prompt

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
Thripura
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:56 am

Export of Datastage job from command prompt

Post by Thripura »

I have used dsexport command to export the job but i am facing the following issue.

-bash: dsexport: command not found

Command used:

DsExport /H=<hostname> /U=dsadm /P="<password> /JOB=j<jobname> <project> export_file.dsx

Connecting to DS from Citirx .Please let me know if there is any issue.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

A pathing issue, it would seem. Either fully path the command, add its home directory to your $PATH or 'cd' there first and then "dot slash" it.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
nitkuar
Participant
Posts: 46
Joined: Mon Jun 23, 2008 3:09 am

Post by nitkuar »

execute below command on UNIX box

Code: Select all

. /opt/ISSuite/Source/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/dsenv;
Please change the dsenv path as per your folder structure.

After that you should be able to use dsexport command for unix session.
asorrell
Posts: 1707
Joined: Fri Apr 04, 2003 2:00 pm
Location: Colleyville, Texas

Post by asorrell »

nitkuar wrote:execute below command on UNIX box

Code: Select all

. /opt/ISSuite/Source/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/dsenv;
Actually Nitkuar that isn't exactly correct. That path is O/S and machine dependent. To get the correct base path you should try:

Code: Select all

cat /.dshome
and then use that path to find dsenv.
Andy Sorrell
Certified DataStage Consultant
IBM Analytics Champion 2009 - 2020
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Vesrion 8 needs a domain.
Mamu Kim
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

But first it needs to be found. :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Thripura
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:56 am

Post by Thripura »

I have 'cd' to the path where dsenv file is present.From there i have executed the command.

PATH=$PATH:/opt/InformationServer/Server/DSEngine/dsenv export PATH

After this is have executed the DSEXPORT command and faced the issue.

Dsexport command not found.

Please provide me the shell script details to take export of individual jobs from a job list , routines and shared containers
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

That isn't what was suggested.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

DsExport.exe is a Windows or client based tool. istool is a server based tool. What Craig is suggesting that you need to pick the right tool to use if you want to run on the DataStage server. If you want to run DsExport then run it from your PC client.
Mamu Kim
mandyli
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 898
Joined: Wed May 26, 2004 10:45 pm
Location: Chicago

Post by mandyli »

DsExport.exe tool it is not in Version 8.1 . In version 8.1 new istool for job export from Windows.

If you want to export from UNIX. Please use UVEXPORT command.

Thanks
Man
agpt
Participant
Posts: 151
Joined: Sun May 16, 2010 12:53 am

Post by agpt »

mandyli wrote:DsExport.exe tool it is not in Version 8.1 . In version 8.1 new istool for job export from Windows.

If you want to export from UNIX. Please use UVEXPORT command.

Thanks
Man
Hi,

What would be for import? UVIMPORT?
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

DsExport.exe is on the client in 8.1. I use it all the time.
Mamu Kim
Thripura
Participant
Posts: 26
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 5:56 am

Post by Thripura »

Hi,
Can you please give me the complete command for UVEXPORT..
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

In your on-line help guide open up the Designer Client Guide to Chapter 11, page 187 and you will find that it uses the following syntax:

dsexport.exe /D domain /H hostname /U username /P password /JOB jobname /XML /EXT /EXEC /APPEND project pathname1
Post Reply