IsNull() in transformer...

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
allavivek
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 5:07 pm

IsNull() in transformer...

Post by allavivek »

Hi All,,


For one field from input file iam getting null values , length is 0....

i was trying to load in oracle dtabase....all records are getting dropped and sql code is -1400...i know its due to null values issue...

the equation i used in transformer is

if IsNull(DSLink150.xxxx) then '9' else DSLink150.xxxxxx


but i was getting empty values and records are getting dropped resulting in sql code -1400....

Any suggestions...
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

In Oracle, an empty string is converted to a null... they are equivalent. And an empty string would test 'true' as a null, so test for both.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
allavivek
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 5:07 pm

Post by allavivek »

chulett wrote:In Oracle, an empty string is converted to a null... they are equivalent. And an empty string would test 'true' as a null, so test for both. ...

chulett i didnt get you..

so you are telling that in oracle null and empty string (both are having length 0) are same...

thanks...
anbu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 2:25 am
Location: india

Post by anbu »

Chulett was mentioning about testing your input for empty string

Code: Select all

if IsNull(DSLink150.xxxx) And Trim(DSLink150.xxxx) = '' then '9' else DSLink150.xxxxxx 
You are the creator of your destiny - Swami Vivekananda
allavivek
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 211
Joined: Sat May 01, 2010 5:07 pm

Post by allavivek »

anbu wrote:Chulett was mentioning about testing your input for empty string

Code: Select all

if IsNull(DSLink150.xxxx) And Trim(DSLink150.xxxx) = '' then '9' else DSLink150.xxxxxx 

i anbu thanks it worked but placed OR in place of AND...
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

allavivek wrote:so you are telling that in oracle null and empty string (both are having length 0) are same...
I was saying that Oracle considers them equivalent, converting one to the other - DataStage does not, however.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply