want to capture data which is causing error

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 11:35 pm

want to capture data which is causing error

Post by tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co »

In my job 1 row(or many ) is giving implicit conversion error .

how can I find the row which is causing trouble in thousand and millions of rows.The column which is having the error is not any key,can accept nulls and has datatype float.
anand_dafaria
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 3:50 am
Location: Phoenix

Post by anand_dafaria »

Please put the exact error emssage...
Last edited by anand_dafaria on Mon Aug 30, 2010 12:27 am, edited 1 time in total.
anand_dafaria
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 3:50 am
Location: Phoenix

Post by anand_dafaria »

What is the target column data type you are putting your source column into and in which stage this error is coming? For checking which value is causing the error you can try a sample job by restricting the input rows to 10 or 20 to check it.
tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 11:35 pm

Post by tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co »

There is no conversion.it is simple mapping of column from oracle sourse to
sqlserver target. I have not done any null handling.

this is the warning :

Copy_of_MAXIMO_WORKORDER: When checking operator: When binding output interface field "ABBESTDOWNTIME" to field "ABBESTDOWNTIME": Implicit conversion from source type "dfloat" to result type "sfloat": Possible range/precision limitation. [api\interface_rep.C:6183]


this is the error:

Copy_of_MAXIMO_WORKORDER,0: (aptoci.C:460). Message: ORA-01438: value larger than specified precision allowed for this column
[aptoci.C:1011]



I have checked with changing the datatype of column from float to double but it does not work
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Did you change it in Oracle? In Maximo?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 11:35 pm

Post by tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co »

I changed datatype from float to double in both oracle source as well as sqlserver target
nani0907
Participant
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:30 am

Post by nani0907 »

what is the data type used for this column in oracle source stage field "ABBESTDOWNTIME".
thanks n regards
nani
tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 11:35 pm

Post by tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co »

float
nani0907
Participant
Posts: 155
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 10:30 am

Post by nani0907 »

in query by cast function ,convert it as varchar like this cast(Trim(ABBESTDOWNTIME) as varchar

and while inserting it into sql server again convert it as target table column data type
anand_dafaria
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 3:50 am
Location: Phoenix

Post by anand_dafaria »

Try putting a modify stage in between the source and target. Keep the source column datatype as dfloat and the target datatype as sfloat (as required by target SQL server). Datastage does an implicit conversion from dfloat to sfloat. Give it a try.
tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 11:35 pm

Post by tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co »

Modify stage does not work...
this is what i gave in the specification

ABBESTDOWNTIME:sfloat=ABBESTDOWNTIME


is this correct
tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 11:35 pm

Post by tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co »

the cast function also does not work
cast as varchardoes not work
anand_dafaria
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Dec 27, 2006 3:50 am
Location: Phoenix

Post by anand_dafaria »

I dont have server connection right now, otherwise would have checked at my end instead of hit and trial. The modify specification is wrong.

Just map it directly and let datastage does the automatic conversion.
ABBESTDOWNTIME=ABBESTDOWNTIME
tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 11:35 pm

Post by tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co »

I have tried to use modify stage but it does not work

I am still getting this warning

Filter_61: When checking operator: When binding output schema variable "outrec": When binding output interface field "ABBESTDOWNTIME" to field "ABBESTDOWNTIME": Implicit conversion from source type "dfloat" to result type "sfloat": Possible range/precision limitation.
tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co
Participant
Posts: 94
Joined: Sun Jul 18, 2010 11:35 pm

Post by tanaya.deshpande@tieto.co »

does anyone know how i can find the row or rows which are giving errors
Post Reply