Implicit conversion from source type string[max=20]

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
sagar deshmukh
Participant
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:55 am
Location: chennai

Implicit conversion from source type string[max=20]

Post by sagar deshmukh »

Hi ,

Could you please help me in removing below warning from my job....
I am not able to understand ..why this warning is coming?

Code: Select all

Lkp_Validation,0: When binding input interface field "T_PROD_INFO" to field "T_PROD_INFO": Implicit conversion from source type "string[max=20]" to result type "string[max=4]": Possible truncation of variable length string
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

No problem in doing so, but you need to answer the following question first:

If your data contains "Hello There", what should the resultant string value be?
sagar deshmukh
Participant
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:55 am
Location: chennai

Post by sagar deshmukh »

"Hello There"
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

That is not going to happen if you move it to 4 chars string.

So you will need to expand the target to 20 chars length.
sagar deshmukh
Participant
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Jan 18, 2008 12:55 am
Location: chennai

Post by sagar deshmukh »

Hi

My target source everything is 20 bytes...That is why I am wondering why this is happeing?
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Your target column is VarChar(4).

Check again.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
priyadarshikunal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1735
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:44 am
Location: Troy, MI

Post by priyadarshikunal »

If I understand it correctly, one of the links in Lkp_Validation lookup stage has it as varchar(4), check that.
Priyadarshi Kunal

Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped. :wink:
Sandhya.Arumugam
Participant
Posts: 7
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2005 1:16 am
Contact:

Post by Sandhya.Arumugam »

I just fixed a similar warning and this solution worked for me.

I changed the column defintion as Varchar() and set Unicode in the extended property, in the job that threw the warning.

Check if this works for you.
Post Reply