Configuration file modification

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
suresh_dsx
Participant
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 7:49 am

Configuration file modification

Post by suresh_dsx »

Hi,

Currently we are using 4 node configuration file. All nodes we are utilizing only for resource and scratch disk.

Is their any possibility to use one of the nodes for database for fetching data from source/loading data into target (As we are using ODBC to connect to SQL Sever database). Remaining 3 nodes use for resource and scratch disk.
As I am using more number of datasets and ODBC stages in the jobs. Searching for the possibility tune the job at configuration level.

Please let me know the syntax to change the configuration file on mapping one of nodes for database. Remaining for the (resource and scratch disk)


Current configuration file.
{
node "node1"
{
fastname "abcd123"
pools ""
resource disk "/inputdir/DataSets/DataSets_N1" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/inputdir/Scratch/Scratch_N1" {pools ""}
}
node "node2"
{
fastname "abcd123"
pools ""
resource disk "/inputdir/DataSets/DataSets_N2" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/inputdir/Scratch/Scratch_N2" {pools ""}
}

node "node3"
{
fastname "abcd123"
pools ""
resource disk "/inputdir/DataSets/DataSets_N3" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/inputdir/Scratch/Scratch_N3" {pools ""}
}
node "node4"
{
fastname "abcd123"
pools ""
resource disk "/inputdir/DataSets/DataSets_N4" {pools ""}
resource scratchdisk "/inputdir/Scratch/Scratch_N4" {pools ""}
}


}

I appreciate your help in regards to this.

Thanks and Regards,
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Code: Select all

{ 

node "node1" 
{ 
   fastname "abcd123" 
   pools "" 
   resource disk "/inputdir/DataSets/DataSets_N1" {pools ""} 
   resource scratchdisk "/inputdir/Scratch/Scratch_N1" {pools ""} 
} 

node "node2" 
{ 
   fastname "abcd123" 
   pools "" 
   resource disk "/inputdir/DataSets/DataSets_N2" {pools ""} 
   resource scratchdisk "/inputdir/Scratch/Scratch_N2" {pools ""} 
} 

node "node3" 
{ 
   fastname "abcd123" 
   pools "" 
   resource disk "/inputdir/DataSets/DataSets_N3" {pools ""} 
   resource scratchdisk "/inputdir/Scratch/Scratch_N3" {pools ""} 
} 

node "node4"   /*  SQL Server node  */
{     /* Note that this node is not in the default node pool ""  */
   fastname "abcd123" 
   pools "sqlserver" 
   resource disk "/inputdir/DataSets/DataSets_N4" {pools ""} 
   resource scratchdisk "/inputdir/Scratch/Scratch_N4" {pools ""} 
} 

} 
Restrict your ODBC/Dynamic RDBMS stage to executing in the sqlserver node pool.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Please do not modify configuration files. Add new ones. If you modify them then obsolete your datasets. So unless all your datasets are going to be rebuilt then be careful.
Mamu Kim
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Datasets store their 'build configuration file' with them.
suresh_dsx
Participant
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue May 02, 2006 7:49 am

Post by suresh_dsx »

Thanks for valuable responses.

As I am not premium member I am unable to see the ray wurold message.
Notes from the chain responces.

1. We are not going to update the existing configuration file.
2. We will create a new configuration file.


I have small clarification, can we assign configuration file (one node) to ODBC stage.

Thanks and Regards,
Suri.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Yes you can, as my response shows. It's up to you when you get your premium membership. It's not expensive (under 30c (Rs12) per day) and worth every penny/paise).
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:Datasets store their 'build configuration file' with them.
In what version? Because we have had issues with this in v7.5.2
Mamu Kim
ersunnys
Participant
Posts: 29
Joined: Wed Sep 13, 2006 1:39 pm
Location: Singapore

Post by ersunnys »

kduke wrote:
Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:Datasets store their 'build configuration file' with them.
In what version? Because we have had issues with this in v7.5.2 ...
I hope in all parallel versions!! otherwise concept of Datasets in Datastage is waste...
Regards,
Sunny Sharma.
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

kduke wrote:
Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:Datasets store their 'build configuration file' with them.
In what version? Because we have had issues with this in v7.5.2
This has been the case from initial PX and from Orchestrate.

You can see the configuration file using orchadmin.
kduke
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 5227
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 9:47 am
Location: Dallas, TX
Contact:

Post by kduke »

You can see the config file but can you still read it once the config file changes?
Mamu Kim
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Yes.
Post Reply