Limitation of the number of parameters

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
rohithmuthyala
Participant
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:46 am
Location: India

Limitation of the number of parameters

Post by rohithmuthyala »

Hi All,

I have a generic Sequence job to extract data which has 5 parameters:

1)Parameter File
2)Table Name
3)ColumnNames
4)Filter
5)Type

I'm trying to run this through dsjob -run command in Unix,

dsjob -run -jobstatus -param ${ParameterFile} -param ${TableName} -param ${ColumnNames} -param ${Filter} -param ${Type} ${ProjName} ${JobName}

It's giving an error message as below,

DSEngine/bin/dsjob: 0403-027 The parameter list is too long.
rc 4

Can anyone please help on this.

I checked and confirmed that the jobs are taking the same number of parameters as I've run the job directly from director.
Rohith
anbu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 2:25 am
Location: india

Post by anbu »

Add set -vx before dsjob command and check the trace for anything wrong in the parameter values
You are the creator of your destiny - Swami Vivekananda
anbu
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Sat Feb 18, 2006 2:25 am
Location: india

Post by anbu »

Add set -vx before dsjob command and check the trace for anything wrong in the parameter values
You are the creator of your destiny - Swami Vivekananda
vinothkumar
Participant
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:38 am
Location: Chennai, India

Post by vinothkumar »

Have you ever run your jobs through command prompt earlier.
datskosaraju
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 11:10 pm
Location: Des Moines,IA

Post by datskosaraju »

vinothkumar wrote:Have you ever run your jobs through command prompt earlier.

ok, now what has this to do with his question?
"It's easier to go down a hill than up it but the view is much better at the top"
-Bennet,Arnold
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

I would wager it is complaining about the total length of your parameter values, rather than the number of them. So... how long are the values? You can certainly pass more than 5 parameters, btw.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

What is the limit on the length of a command in your particular UNIX? Are you reaching this limit?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
rohithmuthyala
Participant
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2009 4:46 am
Location: India

Post by rohithmuthyala »

@Anbu: I've tried this
dsjob set -vx -run -jobstatus -param ${ParameterFile} -param ${TableName} -param ${ColumnNames} -param "${Filter}" ${ProjName} ${JobName}

But i'm getting the same error.

@Vinoth: Yes, I've run a similar job having 1 parameter less.

@Craig: Actually I've run a similar job which has a parameter less but the length of the parameters was greater in that job when compared to this job.

@Ray: I'm not sure how to check out the maximum length of the command in my UNIX.
Rohith
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

If "getconf ARG_MAX" doesn't work, please tell us your shell and UNIX type.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

So... no information on the actual parameter values you are passing? Length, content, nothing? :?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

ps. Anbu said (and meant) before dsjob, as in a separate line:

set -vx
dsjob -run

This should enable verbose debugging information, from what I recall. But again, that could depend on your UNIX and shell, something you haven't passed along.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
vinnz
Participant
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 9:23 pm

Post by vinnz »

rohithmuthyala wrote: @Vinoth: Yes, I've run a similar job having 1 parameter less.

@Craig: Actually I've run a similar job which has a parameter less but the length of the parameters was greater in that job when compared to this job.
what is the new parameter value (please give the details that Craig has already asked for)? Are there any special characters/quotes etc in the value?
Post Reply