Error with IsNull function

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
Deepa
Participant
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 5:22 am

Error with IsNull function

Post by Deepa »

Whenever I use the IsNull function in Transformer job, I get the following compilation error, But when i Replace it with len =0 check, my job runs fine. What is the solution to this problem?

Compilation Error:

"Output from transformer compilation follows:

##I TFCN 000001 05:01:25(000) <main_program>
Ascential DataStage(tm) Enterprise Edition 7.5.1A
Copyright (c) 2004, 1997-2004 Ascential Software Corporation.
All Rights Reserved


##I TUTL 000031 05:01:25(001) <main_program> The open files limit is 2000; raising to 2147483647.
##I TOSH 000002 05:01:25(002) <main_program> orchgeneral: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 05:01:25(003) <main_program> orchsort: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 05:01:25(004) <main_program> orchstats: loaded
##E TCOS 000003 05:01:25(007) <main_program> Licensing error: could not find a valid license.
##I TFSC 000001 05:01:25(008) <main_program> APT configuration file: /home/dsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Configurations/default.apt
##I TLIC 000002 05:01:25(000) <APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator,0> Node 'grf2' has 4 physical processors.
##W TLIC 000003 05:01:25(001) <APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator,0> DataStage has found more CPU's on your system than your current license allows.
##W TLIC 000004 05:01:25(002) <APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator,0> Please contact Ascential Client Support or your Ascential Account Manager.
##W TCOS 000049 05:01:25(009) <main_program> Parameter specified but not used in flow: DSPXWorkingDir"
Last edited by Deepa on Sat Dec 10, 2005 9:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
koolnitz
Participant
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 5:39 am

Post by koolnitz »

Hi Deepa,
##E TCOS 000003 05:01:25(007) <main_program> Licensing error: could not find a valid license.
##I TFSC 000001 05:01:25(008) <main_program> APT configuration file: /home/dsadm/Ascential/DataStage/Configurations/default.apt
##I TLIC 000002 05:01:25(000) <APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator,0> Node 'grf2' has 4 physical processors.
##W TLIC 000003 05:01:25(001) <APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator,0> DataStage has found more CPU's on your system than your current license allows.
##W TLIC 000004 05:01:25(002) <APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator,0> Please contact Ascential Client Support or your Ascential Account Manager.
Seems like you have installed DS on a server having more CPUs than licensed.

Yesterday, one of my sites also complained about the same messages while they tried to deploy a project.
Please see below:
##I TFCN 000001 07:52:56(000) <main_program>
Ascential DataStage(tm) Enterprise Edition 7.5.1A
Copyright (c) 2004, 1997-2004 Ascential Software Corporation.
All Rights Reserved

##I TUTL 000031 07:52:56(001) <main_program> The open files limit is 2000; raising to 2147483647.
##I TOSH 000002 07:52:56(002) <main_program> orchgeneral: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 07:52:56(003) <main_program> orchsort: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 07:52:56(004) <main_program> orchstats: loaded
##I TFSC 000001 07:52:56(007) <main_program> APT configuration file: /sysp/DataStage/Ascential/DataStage/Configurations/default.apt
##I TLIC 000002 07:52:56(000) <APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator,0> Node 'HKD03LP0907' has 8 physical processors.
##W TLIC 000003 07:52:56(001) <APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator,0> DataStage has found more CPU's on your system than your current license allows.
##W TLIC 000004 07:52:56(002) <APT_LicenseCheckOp in APT_LicenseOperator,0> Please contact Ascential Client Support or your Ascential Account Manager.
##W TCOS 000049 07:52:56(008) <main_program> Parameter specified but not used in flow: DSPXWorkingDir
##E TBLD 000000 07:52:56(010) <main_program> Error when checking composite operator: Subprocess command failed with exit status 32,512.
##E TFSR 000019 07:52:56(011) <main_program> Could not check all operators because of previous error(s)
##W TFCP 000000 07:52:56(012) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: The number of reject datasets "0" is less than the number of input datasets "1".
##W TFCP 000025 07:52:56(013) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Converting ustring to string using codepage ISO-8859-1.
##W TFCP 000000 07:52:56(014) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Implicit conversion from source type "UString" to result type "String".
##W TFCP 000025 07:52:56(015) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Converting number to string.
##W TFCP 000000 07:52:56(016) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Implicit conversion from source type "Int32" to result type "String".
##W TFCP 000025 07:52:56(017) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Converting number to string.
##W TFCP 000000 07:52:56(018) <transform> Error when checking composite operator: Implicit conversion from source type "Int32" to result type "String".
##W TBLD 000000 07:52:56(019) <main_program> Error when checking composite operator: Output from subprocess: sh: /usr/vacpp/bin/xlC_r: not found.
When they tried to import a project into a new server, some of the jobs got compiled while some failed. I observed that those jobs where we used Parallel Transformer stages were denying to get compiled.

Lets see what other experts from the forum have to say.
Nitin Jain | India

If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something.
Deepa
Participant
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Dec 10, 2005 5:22 am

Post by Deepa »

Thanks for your reply, Nitin.
koolnitz
Participant
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 5:39 am

Post by koolnitz »

Knock knock.. Anybody there ??

:idea: :?: :o
Nitin Jain | India

If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

I'll play. Anybody there WHO? :?:
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
koolnitz
Participant
Posts: 138
Joined: Wed Sep 07, 2005 5:39 am

Post by koolnitz »

Hi Ray,
When they tried to import a project into a new server, some of the jobs got compiled while some failed. I observed that those jobs where we used Parallel Transformer stages were denying to get compiled.

Lets see what other experts from the forum have to say.
I was just seeking some suggestions from DS experts like You.
No games 8)
Nitin Jain | India

If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

And some of us like our weekends. That's why the facetious response. I don't appreciate being hassled (on any channel); I will post if I have anything to add; my silence either means that I have nothing to add or that I don't have the answer. Sometimes I am working at server-only sites, so I can not experiment with parallel jobs.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

koolnitz,

in your case the error message is most likely generated by a misconfigured c++ compiler - it is used when a job has transform stages and would explain that other jobs are correctly compiling.

But you also seem to have an installation using more CPUs than you have licensed. I trust that this is not on an HSBC system as that company is particularly scrupulous about adhering to any licensing constraints.
hsahay
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Wed Mar 21, 2007 9:35 am

Post by hsahay »

I started getting exactly these kind of compilation error messages in one of my parallel jobs after we migrated our 7.5 jobs to our 8.1 installation.
Error when checking composite operator: Converting ustring to string using codepage ISO-8859-1.
The only difference is that when our sys admins installed datastage 8.1 they installed it with NLS support.

I also had problems running Date type SDK built-in routines. Once i changed the server locale setting to off that was resolved.

Could the compilation error be related to the fact that in our 8.1 installation is using iso-8859-1 in both server and parallel maps ? How can i turn them off so that the project behaves as if no NLS is supported ?
vishal
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Adding to a five year old thread that is not the same question as yours is only going to make it harder to find your question in future. Please begin a new thread.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply