External Source Stage 'ls' Command Issue

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

External Source Stage 'ls' Command Issue

Post by dspradeep »

We have developed all the jobs in Windows environment after that we have moved into AIX environment.
In AIX, we are facing one isue in ESS stage.
In windows the below path we have all 1000 xml files.

Code: Select all

C:\IBM\InformationServer\Server\Projects\MS1_POC\Ms1\JobPackage
In the ESS stage I have used the command like

Code: Select all

ls C:\IBM\InformationServer\Server\Projects\MS1_POC\Ms1\JobPackage\*.xml
The above command to execute the job successfully but now in
AIX Environment
We have changed the path like

Code: Select all

 ls /PBMS1/input/AT/jobpackage/*.xml 
now i am not able to view the file name in the ESS stage. when i am trying to view then it's giving the below error

Code: Select all

 ##I IIS-DSEE-TFCN-00001 08:08:19(000) <main_program> 
 IBM WebSphere DataStage Enterprise Edition 8.1.0.5040 
 Copyright (c) 2001, 2005-2008 IBM Corporation. All rights reserved
  
 
 
 ##I IIS-DSEE-TFCN-00006 08:08:19(001) <main_program> conductor uname: -s=AIX; -r=3; -v=5; -n=dwdbd1; -m=00C8A9C24C00
 ##I IIS-DSEE-TOSH-00002 08:08:19(002) <main_program> orchgeneral: loaded
 ##I IIS-DSEE-TOSH-00002 08:08:19(003) <main_program> orchsort: loaded
 ##I IIS-DSEE-TOSH-00002 08:08:19(004) <main_program> orchstats: loaded
 ##W IIS-DSEE-TOSH-00049 08:08:19(005) <main_program> Parameter specified but not used in flow: _Oracle_MS1_TRW_SID
 ##W IIS-DSEE-TOSH-00049 08:08:19(006) <main_program> Parameter specified but not used in flow: _Oracle_MS1_TRW_Schema_name
 ##W IIS-DSEE-TOSH-00049 08:08:19(007) <main_program> Parameter specified but not used in flow: _Oracle_MS1_TRW_UsrName
 ##W IIS-DSEE-TOSH-00049 08:08:19(008) <main_program> Parameter specified but not used in flow: _Oracle_MS1_TRW_UsrPwd
 ##W IIS-DSEE-TOSH-00049 08:08:19(009) <main_program> Parameter specified but not used in flow: _PB_MS1_AT_Jobpackage_Path
 ##W IIS-DSEE-TOSH-00049 08:08:19(010) <main_program> Parameter specified but not used in flow: DSProjectMapName
 ##I IIS-DSEE-TFSC-00001 08:08:19(016) <main_program> APT configuration file: /datastage/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations/default.apt
>##E IIS-DSEE-TOIX-00161 08:08:19(000) <External_Source_61,0> Filter status 589,833;
>filter process died from signal 9;
>import error at record 0.
>##E IIS-DSEE-TOIX-00179 08:08:19(001) <External_Source_61,0> Import error at record 0.
>##E IIS-DSEE-TFOR-00089 08:08:19(002) <External_Source_61,0> The runLocally() of the operator failed.
 ##I IIS-DSEE-TFOR-00094 08:08:19(003) <External_Source_61,0> Output 0 produced 0 records.
 ##I IIS-DSEE-USBP-00001 08:08:19(000) <APT_CombinedOperatorController,0> called postFinalRunLocally
>##E IIS-DSEE-TFOR-00089 08:08:19(004) <APT_CombinedOperatorController,0> The runLocally() of the operator failed.
>##E IIS-DSEE-TFPM-00040 08:08:19(005) <APT_CombinedOperatorController,0> Operator terminated abnormally: runLocally() did not return APT_StatusOk
>##E IIS-DSEE-TFSC-00011 08:08:25(000) <main_program> Step execution finished with status = FAILED.
 ##I IIS-DSEE-TCOS-00026 08:08:25(001) <main_program> Startup time, 0:05; production run time, 0:01.
If I run the job I am getting the below error

Code: Select all

 /usr/bin/ls: 0403-027 The parameter list is too long 
[/code]
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

That is a very common UNIX problem that googling for "The parameter list is too long" would reveal the answers for.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

Ok thanks Chulett, I will do the search in google also if any one knows what exactly I need to do for that please post here.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

*I* know but there are several solutions for this and you need to learn how to find your own answers, especially when they are easily found with two minutes effort. Teach a man to fish and all that. :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

Please tell me since I am not able to find out the exact solution for that.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Then you're not really looking. Here's the first hit from a Google search, lays it all out:

http://www.tek-tips.com/viewthread.cfm? ... 140&page=1
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

Hi

I have checked what ever you given link and some other link also.

but i don't know how to use these in ESS stage since for loop and all i don't think i can able to use in ESS stage
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

You would have to script the 'for' loop and the run the script in the ESS. Did you not try the 'find' command?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

I have tried the "find" command and it's working but I feel it's taking some extra time compare to ls command. so I am looking some other command.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

How much "extra time"? Enough to make this search for another way worth your time? I sincerely doubt it.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Perhaps dspradeep is being paid by the hour?
:wink:
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
dspradeep
Participant
Posts: 59
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 12:58 am

Post by dspradeep »

In windows we have used 'ls' command which was taken not even 1 min to complete 1000 xml but now in AIX environment there is some limitation for ls command so we could not use this and we have tried different command but nothing work out for me.
Finally

Code: Select all

 find <path> -name "*.xml" 
command working fine but it's taking 27 min to complete 300 xml. The volume of data also very less compare to windows which we are processed earlier.

Please any one help me in this.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

There's no way the find command is taking 27 minutes. Seek your bottleneck elsewhere.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply