error while running the job

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
deva
Participant
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:54 pm

error while running the job

Post by deva »

Hi ,
When I run the job I am getting the following error

"Operator terminated abnormally: received signal SIGSEGV"

my database connections are good. it is running 3 minutes and after that my job is aboring with the above error.

can any one suggest me please. I am hoping its memory error, so I changed scrach desk path as well. but it won't work.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

SIGSEGV is a Segmentation Violation signal, more of a coding than a resource issue. Did you try search here for that message? What is your job design?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
deva
Participant
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:54 pm

Post by deva »

No mostly the design is look up for the data and giving input to shared container and inserting or updating to the database.
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

You need to be more specific.

As Craig suggested, do a search on SIGSEGV. It is definitely an issue in the code.
deva
Participant
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:54 pm

Post by deva »

Hi , looks like no issue in the code. here are the things

- I am running my jobs on grid environment.
- getting data from oracle database.
- lookup with db2 database based on the key.
- using transwarmenr loading data into oracle table.

This is the code.

if I run the job it is running 3 min. and aborting . Is there any issue with look up? but lookup throughing data. But from source I am getting 1 record.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

'Code' doesn't necessarily mean your 'code', could be a driver or parallel framework bug, etc. Involve your official support provider.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
deva
Participant
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:54 pm

Post by deva »

Can any one suggest what is the solution for this issue?
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

What is the volume ?

What happens if you run without any rows ?
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

These are not typically simple to figure out. Involve your official support provider.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
deva
Participant
Posts: 104
Joined: Fri Dec 29, 2006 1:54 pm

Post by deva »

The volume of data in the lookup is 3 mil.

we don't have any other support team. If any one know the right answer or suggestions please respond.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

There's no magic answer. I would suggest that you search for SIGSEGV here and concentrate first on any that are marked Resolved, see if anything in them helps. Then go through the allegedly unresolved ones.

Then experiment. Does the grid node the job runs on matter? Does it work if you constrain it to one node? Can you 'work around' the issue by breaking the job up into two logical halves? Are you hash partitioning the data going into the Lookup based on the lookup keys to minimize the amount of data each node processes? Etc, etc, etc. Don't just sit around and wait for The Answer to fall from the sky.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply