default.apt does not exist

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Thanh Dalton
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:25 am
Location: Ottawa ON

default.apt does not exist

Post by Thanh Dalton »

Hi,

My new configuration file does exit in the directory. I have updated APT_CONFIG_FILE from default.apt to newdefault.apt.

But when i run the job, why I get the following error?

main_program: $APT_CONFIG_FILE=/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations/newdefault.apt does not exist or is not a file or symbolic link to one.

main_program: Fatal Error: Cannot continue without a configuration file.
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Do an

Code: Select all

ls $APT_CONFIG_FILE
to check its presence.
Thanh Dalton
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:25 am
Location: Ottawa ON

Post by Thanh Dalton »

Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:Do an

Code: Select all

ls $APT_CONFIG_FILE
to check its presence.

Thank you.

Here is the result:
bash-3.00$ ls -l $APT_CONFIG_FILE
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7820 Dec 15 12:59 default.apt
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7304 Oct 20 06:53 default_OLD.apt


Where the default_OLD.apt was renamed from the original default.apt that came when the DS project was created. the current default.apt is the one I updated with the right path to datasets and Scratch and I want to use for the project. As said earlier, I got:

main_program: $APT_CONFIG_FILE=/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations/default.apt does not exist or is not a file or symbolic link to one.

main_program: Fatal Error: Cannot continue without a configuration file.


Please help.
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

If you're certain it exists, check the permissions it has.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Thanh Dalton
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:25 am
Location: Ottawa ON

Post by Thanh Dalton »

chulett wrote:If you're certain it exists, check the permissions it has.
Thank you.
As you can see from the result, the permission shouldn't be a problem because the original default worked and the new one has the same permission as the original one.
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Thanh Dalton wrote: bash-3.00$ ls -l $APT_CONFIG_FILE
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7820 Dec 15 12:59 default.apt
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7304 Oct 20 06:53 default_OLD.apt
Above shows that your $APT_CONFIG_FILE is not set.

Can you do

Code: Select all

ls -l /opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations/default.apt 
and it returns successful, try

Code: Select all

cat /opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations/default.apt

and paste the result here
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

When you did an "ls -l" on the environment variable, why did two files get listed? Echo that variable.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Thanh Dalton
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:25 am
Location: Ottawa ON

Post by Thanh Dalton »

Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:
Thanh Dalton wrote: bash-3.00$ ls -l $APT_CONFIG_FILE
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7820 Dec 15 12:59 default.apt
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7304 Oct 20 06:53 default_OLD.apt
Above shows that your $APT_CONFIG_FILE is not set.

Can you do

Code: Select all

ls -l /opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations/default.apt 
and it returns successful, try

Code: Select all

cat /opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations/default.apt

and paste the result here
bash-3.00$ pwd
/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations
bash-3.00$ ls -l
total 64
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 2714 Aug 11 08:16 16node.apt
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 5434 Aug 11 08:18 32node.apt
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7820 Dec 15 12:59 default.apt
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7304 Oct 20 06:53 default_OLD.apt
Thanh Dalton
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:25 am
Location: Ottawa ON

Post by Thanh Dalton »

chulett wrote:When you did an "ls -l" on the environment variable, why did two files get listed? Echo that variable.
Where should I issue the "ls -l"? I did it from the Unix terminal.

A few configuration files were used for different DS projects.

with echo $APT_CONFIG_FILE, nothing displayed.

bash-3.00$ echo $APT_CONFIG_FILE
Thanh Dalton
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:25 am
Location: Ottawa ON

Post by Thanh Dalton »

Thanh Dalton wrote:
Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:
Thanh Dalton wrote: bash-3.00$ ls -l $APT_CONFIG_FILE
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7820 Dec 15 12:59 default.apt
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7304 Oct 20 06:53 default_OLD.apt
Above shows that your $APT_CONFIG_FILE is not set.

Can you do

Code: Select all

ls -l /opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations/default.apt 
and it returns successful, try

Code: Select all

cat /opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations/default.apt

and paste the result here
bash-3.00$ pwd
/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations
bash-3.00$ ls -l
total 64
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7820 Dec 15 12:59 default.apt
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7304 Oct 20 06:53 default_OLD.apt
Last edited by Thanh Dalton on Mon Dec 21, 2009 1:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Thanh Dalton
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:25 am
Location: Ottawa ON

Post by Thanh Dalton »

Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:
Thanh Dalton wrote: bash-3.00$ ls -l $APT_CONFIG_FILE
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7820 Dec 15 12:59 default.apt
-rw-rw-r-- 1 dsadm dstage 7304 Oct 20 06:53 default_OLD.apt
Above shows that your $APT_CONFIG_FILE is not set.

How to set $APT_CONFIG_FILE? I did it with DS Administrator.
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

What value did you set in administrator ? Can you paste the exact value here.

You can do

Code: Select all

export APT_CONFIG_FILE=<Value As Provided In Administrator>
Thanh Dalton
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:25 am
Location: Ottawa ON

Post by Thanh Dalton »

Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:What value did you set in administrator ? Can you paste the exact value here.

You can do

Code: Select all

export APT_CONFIG_FILE=<Value As Provided In Administrator>
I set it using DS Administrator GUI
Steps:
Logon DS Administrator ->select the ptoject --> click Properties button --> click Environment button to get the Environment Variables window. Under the Parallel Catagory, updated the APT_CONFIG_FILE to
/opt/IBM/InformationServer/Server/Configurations/default.apt

Question: where should I issue

Code: Select all

export APT_CONFIG_FILE=<Value As Provided In Administrator>
[/quote]?
In UNIX terminal or DS Administrator Command Interface?
Sainath.Srinivasan
Participant
Posts: 3337
Joined: Mon Jan 17, 2005 4:49 am
Location: United Kingdom

Post by Sainath.Srinivasan »

Thanh Dalton wrote: Question: where should I issue

Code: Select all

export APT_CONFIG_FILE=<Value As Provided In Administrator>
In UNIX terminal or DS Administrator Command Interface?
Ans : Unix terminal
Thanh Dalton
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 57
Joined: Wed Nov 15, 2006 10:25 am
Location: Ottawa ON

Post by Thanh Dalton »

Sainath.Srinivasan wrote:
Thanh Dalton wrote: Question: where should I issue

Code: Select all

export APT_CONFIG_FILE=<Value As Provided In Administrator>
In UNIX terminal or DS Administrator Command Interface?
Ans : Unix terminal
Thanks.

If the export command should be issue from UNIX terminal, , my question is: how the DS Engine could be smart enough to know which DS project we are talking about?
Post Reply