Compilation error while using transformer

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
jaysheel
Participant
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:54 am
Location: Bangalore

Compilation error while using transformer

Post by jaysheel »

Hi DS Lords,

I have freshly installed DS EE on Win XP machine. The machine has Visual Studio 2005 and Platform SDK installed on it. While compiling jobs which have transformer I am getting the following error. I have serached through all the topics related to this error and tried all the solutions. No luck !

I have the environment variables in Windows system pointing to correct LIB and INCLUDE path. The error I am getting is..

Output from transformer compilation follows:

##I TFCN 000001 20:36:26(000) <main_program>
Ascential DataStage(tm) Enterprise Edition 7.5
Copyright (c) 2004, 1997-2004 Ascential Software Corporation.
All Rights Reserved


##I TOSH 000002 20:36:26(001) <main_program> orchgeneral: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 20:36:26(002) <main_program> orchsort: loaded
##I TOSH 000002 20:36:26(003) <main_program> orchstats: loaded
##W TFPA 000012 20:36:27(000) <main_program> Warning: the PWD environment variable is not defined. Remote process startup may be unsuccessful as a result.If your ORCHESTRATE job does not start up correctly, please set your PWD variable to a value that will work on all nodes of your system.
##E TFCP 000209 20:36:28(000) <transform> Unrecognized argument: -W/EHa
##E TCOS 000029 20:36:28(001) <main_program> Creation of step finished with status = FAILED (Test1.Transformer_2)

*** Internal Generated Transformer Code follows:
0001: //
0002: // Generated file to implement the V0S2_repos_Transformer_2 transform operator.
0003: //
0004:
0005: // define our input/output link names
0006: inputname 0 DSLink3;
0007: outputname 0 DSLink4;
0008:
0009: initialize {
0010: // define our row rejected variable
0011: int8 RowRejected0;
0012:
0013: // define our null set variable
0014: int8 NullSetVar0;
0015:
0016: }
0017:
0018: mainloop {
0019: // initialise our row rejected variable
0020: RowRejected0 = 1;
0021:
0022: // evaluate columns (no constraints) for link: DSLink4
0023: writerecord 0;
0024: RowRejected0 = 0;
0025: }
0026:
0027: finish {
0028: }
0029:
*** End of Internal Generated Transformer Code


And also the compiler and linker options in DS Administrator are as below.



APT_COMPILEOPT : -W/TP -W/EHa -DAPT_USE_ANSI_IOSTREAMS -c
APT_COMILER : C:\Program Files\MKS Toolkit\etc\
APT_LINKER : C:\Program Files\MKS Toolkit\etc\
APT_LINKOPT : -W/TP -W/dll -W/base:0x50000000


I hope I have all the prerequisites installed correctely on the Machine.
Could someone show some light on this.
- Jaysheel -
jaysheel
Participant
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:54 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by jaysheel »

I got rid of this warning by adding a user defined PWD variable with value .(Dot) which was mentioned in one of the topics.

##W TFPA 000012 20:36:27(000) <main_program> Warning: the PWD environment variable is not defined. Remote process startup may be unsuccessful as a result.If your ORCHESTRATE job does not start up correctly, please set your PWD variable to a value that will work on all nodes of your system.



The rest of the error stays :?
- Jaysheel -
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Compilation error while using transformer

Post by chulett »

jaysheel wrote:##E TFCP 000209 20:36:28(000) <transform> Unrecognized argument: -W/EHa
...
APT_COMPILEOPT : -W/TP -W/EHa -DAPT_USE_ANSI_IOSTREAMS -c
Hmmm...
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
jaysheel
Participant
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:54 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by jaysheel »

Why was that Craig ?

:roll:

Any solutions for this ..
- Jaysheel -
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Seemed pretty obvious to me. Your compiler is complaining about the "-W/EHa" option you are using so you'd need to "fix" that. I don't use VS so no clue what it means and don't know if you should remove it or what.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
jaysheel
Participant
Posts: 57
Joined: Mon Apr 07, 2008 1:54 am
Location: Bangalore

Post by jaysheel »

Hi,

I successfully resolved the issue.
Uninstalled Visual C++ 2003 Toolkit, Platform Development SDK, MKS Toolkit, and Datastage engine.

Restarted the machine and Installed these in order.

1.Visual C++ 2003 Toolkit. And then set the environment variables for these.
2.Platform SDK for XP. Set environment variables for this also.
3.Install the Datastage Server.

And this fixed the problem and transformer is getting compiled successdully.
- Jaysheel -
Post Reply