Oracle Enterprise read method

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
somu_june
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 9:28 am
Location: 36p,reading road

Oracle Enterprise read method

Post by somu_june »

Hi,

Iam using oracle Enterprise stage to read data from a table


SELECT * FROM EMP WHERE EXISTS
(SELECT DEPT FROM DEPT A
WHERE A.DEPT_NO = EMP.DEPT_NO)
ORDER BY EMP.ENAME


When I am using above query to run my job to extract from oracle enterprise stage it is extracting only 5000000 (half million) instead of 1 million records . When I ran the same query in SQL* PLUS it is giving me 1 million.

I tried the option of ARRAYSIZE in DB OPTION and changed to 4000 but no help. I ran the same job for less volume of data like 400000 the job is working fine ( with out changing any seetings like array size) but when I ran huge volume of data it is not extracting all records from the stage.

Is there any setting that we need to handle like ENV variable.



Thanks,
Somaraju.
somaraju
vinothkumar
Participant
Posts: 342
Joined: Tue Nov 04, 2008 10:38 am
Location: Chennai, India

Post by vinothkumar »

How are you determining that your stage retrieves only half million records ?
somu_june
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 9:28 am
Location: 36p,reading road

Post by somu_june »

Hi,


From Job Monitor and Job log. I determined the no of records Iam extracting




Thanks,
Somaraju.
somaraju
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Did you look at one node of two, perhaps?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
somu_june
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 9:28 am
Location: 36p,reading road

Post by somu_june »

Hi Ray,


Iam reading it sequentail so it will have only one node





Thanks,
Somaraju
somaraju
bollinenik
Participant
Posts: 111
Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2006 5:12 am
Location: Detroit

Post by bollinenik »

Hi,
Try find how many number of records are there in the file from unix box with unix commands or in some other way, insted of depend only on DS link counts.

unix: wc -l <filename>
somu_june
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 439
Joined: Wed Sep 14, 2005 9:28 am
Location: 36p,reading road

Post by somu_june »

Hi,

When I ran the same job from Development (Datastage) server pointing to Preprod Oracle server, job is working fine and when I ran the same job from Preprod (Datastage) server pointing to Preprod Oracle server job Iam facing the above problem as I mentioned and I checked all the environment variables from Datastage Side and every thing looks fine.

Is there some thing I need to look from unix (sun solaris) side.

Thanks,
Somaraju.
somaraju
Post Reply