Modify

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
kittu.raja
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:48 pm

Modify

Post by kittu.raja »

Hi,
I am getting a warning 'Sequential_File_2: When checking operator: When binding input interface field "SNo" to field "SNo": Implicit conversion from source type "dfloat" to result type "int32": Possible range/precision limitation."
I used a modify stage then also I am getting the same warning. I searched in the forum but I did not get the solution.
I can do it with transformer AsInteger bu t I want to use Modify stage.
Appreciate your help
Thansk,
Rajesh Kumar
uegodawa
Participant
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:46 pm

Post by uegodawa »

1. Can you specify the data types of input and output of 'SNo' field.
2. What's derivation you used in Modify stage ?
Thanks,
Upul
kittu.raja
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:48 pm

Post by kittu.raja »

uegodawa wrote:1. Can you specify the data types of input and output of 'SNo' field.
2. What's derivation you used in Modify stage ?
Input data type is Double
Output datatype is Integer

In the derivation I used SNo=SNo as Modify uses a default conversion rule for this conversion.
Rajesh Kumar
uegodawa
Participant
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:46 pm

Post by uegodawa »

Okay you are trying to assign double to int.
double can store upto 8 bytes
int can store upto 4 bytes.
Suppose your input has 6 bytes. Can you store that value into a int type variable ?

In your case either you need to chnage int to double or double to int , depend on your requirement. Otherwise use a Transformer stage with following function
AsInteger().
Thanks,
Upul
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

SHOW us what you are attempting in the Modify stage: input and output data type plus specifications.

Are you using a NOWARN specification?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
kittu.raja
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:48 pm

Post by kittu.raja »

[quote="uegodawa"]Okay you are trying to assign double to int.
double can store upto 8 bytes
I will be getting 4 bytes of data thats for sure. Now what should I do
Rajesh Kumar
kittu.raja
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:48 pm

Post by kittu.raja »

[quote="ray.wurlod"]SHOW us what you are attempting in the Modify

Input data type double
Output data type Integer
specification SNo=SNo

SNo is the column name.
Rajesh Kumar
kittu.raja
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:48 pm

Post by kittu.raja »

[quote="ray.wurlod"]SHOW us what you are attempting in the Modify

I am not using any warn specification
Rajesh Kumar
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

kittu.raja wrote:I am not using any warn specification
Would you like to try one?

It's the single word NOWARN as a separate Specification.

Still waiting for you to post your actual Specifications so we can check them to see if the problem might be there.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
uegodawa
Participant
Posts: 71
Joined: Thu Apr 27, 2006 12:46 pm

Post by uegodawa »

I will be getting 4 bytes of data thats for sure. Now what should I do
Then you can make data type as Integer on both sides.
Thanks,
Upul
Post Reply