How to run 2 jobs Parallel in JOB SEQUENCER

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

raju_chvr
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 9:19 am
Location: USA

How to run 2 jobs Parallel in JOB SEQUENCER

Post by raju_chvr »

Hello,

Is it possible to execute 2 Parallel DataStage jobs parallel within the same JOB Sequence ?
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Yes, simply don't link them together.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
raju_chvr
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 9:19 am
Location: USA

How to run 2 jobs Parallel in JOB SEQUENCER

Post by raju_chvr »

Well My bad. I should have mentioned this before.

I need these 2 jobs(Lets say: Job2, Job3) which have to run parallel after JOBA runs successfully.

I hope I am clear this time. So can this happen ?

chulett wrote:Yes, simply don't link them together. ...
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Sure, run OK triggers from JOBA to both Job2 and Job3. They will both start after JOBA completes successfully.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
kittu.raja
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 175
Joined: Tue Oct 14, 2008 1:48 pm

Re: How to run 2 jobs Parallel in JOB SEQUENCER

Post by kittu.raja »

[quote="raju_chvr"]Well My bad. I should have mentioned this before.


Otherwise simply use a sequencer. JOBA linked to sequencer and sequencer to job2 and job3.
Rajesh Kumar
raju_chvr
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 9:19 am
Location: USA

How to run 2 jobs Parallel in JOB SEQUENCE

Post by raju_chvr »

I have tried what you have mentioned. Job2 and Job3 are starting automatically after JOBA is finished. But they are not running in parallel, Job2 is finished and then Job3 is starting.

I am saying the above from observing Job Director Log. Any thoughts ??

chulett wrote:Sure, run OK triggers from JOBA to both Job2 and Job3. They will both start after JOBA completes successfully. ...
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

:? And your job design looks like this?

Code: Select all

    /------> Job2
JOBA 
    \------> Job3
No dependancies between Job2 and Job3 other than the links back to JOBA? They should both start at approximately the same time.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

Don't link them together. There ought to be no link from Job2 to Job3.

Code: Select all

         ------> Job2
   JobA 
         ------> Job3     
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
raju_chvr
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 9:19 am
Location: USA

How to run 2 jobs Parallel in JOB SEQUENCER

Post by raju_chvr »

Ray/Chulett,

Job2 and Job3 are absolutely independent. JOB4 is designed to run after Job2 and Job3 are successfully completed.

Isn't the Sequencer creates one session and fork child processes from that, can it fork simultaneous parallel child processes ?

ray.wurlod wrote:Don't link them together. There ought to be no link from Job2 to Job3.

Code: Select all

         ------> Job2
   JobA 
         ------> Job3     
...
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Yes, it should work just fine as noted. Can you post the start and end times from all three jobs? Don't expect the two jobs to start at the exact same time, it should start the first and then once started, it should start the second one. If the first job completes quickly, then it can appear as if the second is waiting, but it isn't.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
raju_chvr
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 9:19 am
Location: USA

Post by raju_chvr »

2/3/2009 1:32:51 PM: JOBA:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (DeleteDataset Routine): Dataset .. is deleted

2/3/2009 1:32:51 PM: Job2:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (FileExists Routine): GLMA_Dly_Sls.dat is valid

2/3/2009 1:33:00 PM: Job3:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (FileExists Routine): GLMA_Dly_Sls.dat is valid

2/3/2009 1:33:26 PM:Job4:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (FileExists Routine): GLMA_MO_SLS_WORK.dat is valid

I hope this helps my case ...
Mike
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1021
Joined: Sun Mar 03, 2002 6:01 pm
Location: Tampa, FL

Post by Mike »

Job2 and Job3 started 9 seconds apart. That's close enough for me for a simultaneous start. Remember DataStage only adds a run request to the operating system queue. The OS schedules processes to run based on resource availability. A 9 second difference for jobs that may run minutes or hours...

Mike
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

JobA and Job2 started within the same second. Please post your actual job sequence design. Also please post the logged startup and execution times of all five jobs (including the job sequence).
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
raju_chvr
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 165
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2003 9:19 am
Location: USA

Post by raju_chvr »

We increased the number of records to some 100000+ and following are the observations:

JOBA is still not kicking of Job2 and Job3 at the same time. any thoughts ??


2/4/2009 12:05:57 PM: JOBA:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (DeleteDataset Routine): Dataset .. is deleted

2/4/2009 12:05:57 PM Job2:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4_PARALLEL..JobControl (FileExists Routine): GLMA_Dly_Sls.dat is valid

2/4/2009 12:06:45 PM: Job3:
TEST_DGLMA_N_SEQ4..JobControl (FileExists Routine): GLMA_MO_SLS_WORK.dat is valid

2/4/2009 12:07:03 PM: Job4:
DGLMA_N_SEQ4..JobControl (@Seq11): Starting GLMA Sequencer Step 6
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

Recall that we said that they would not "start at the same time" but rather one would start, then the second would start and they would run in parallel after that.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Post Reply