Routine activity make its work fine but "did not finish

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
Alethesnake
Participant
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:48 am
Location: Blue Bay (La Spezia)

Routine activity make its work fine but "did not finish

Post by Alethesnake »

Hi All,
I hope this is the right forum, on the contrary please forgive me.

I work with DSEE 8.
I wrote the following easy server routine:

Code: Select all

$INCLUDE DSINCLUDE JOBCONTROL.H
Call DSSetUserStatus(Arg1)
Ans = Arg1
(type : transform function) and it runs well.
However, when I call it from a routine activity of a sequence, I get the following warning:
DW00TBCF..JobControl (@UserStatusOK): Routine DSU.DSSetUserStatus did not finish OK, return code = 'OK'
(DSSetUserStatus is also the name of my routine. Bad name choiche, I know..)

I pass 'OK' to the routine, the value is correctly written into the userstatus of the sequence (I checked it out) but I get the mentioned warning.

Am I making something wrong?

Thanks for any help.

Regards,

Ale.
...
priyadarshikunal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1735
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:44 am
Location: Troy, MI

Re: Routine activity make its work fine but "did not fi

Post by priyadarshikunal »

Alethesnake wrote:Hi All,
I hope this is the right forum, on the contrary please forgive me.

I work with DSEE 8.
I wrote the following easy server routine:

Code: Select all

$INCLUDE DSINCLUDE JOBCONTROL.H
Call DSSetUserStatus(Arg1)
Ans = Arg1
(type : transform function) and it runs well.
However, when I call it from a routine activity of a sequence, I get the following warning:
DW00TBCF..JobControl (@UserStatusOK): Routine DSU.DSSetUserStatus did not finish OK, return code = 'OK'
(DSSetUserStatus is also the name of my routine. Bad name choiche, I know..)

I pass 'OK' to the routine, the value is correctly written into the userstatus of the sequence (I checked it out) but I get the mentioned warning.

Am I making something wrong?

Thanks for any help.

Regards,

Ale.
The only thing wrong is passing OK as a return value. In routine every thing returned except 0 means the status is not OK. So if the routine is successful pass 0 instead of OK.

Regards,
Priyadarshi Kunal

Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped. :wink:
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

A search for "did not finish OK" would show that this question has been asked and answered alot, most recently here.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
Alethesnake
Participant
Posts: 56
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2007 8:48 am
Location: Blue Bay (La Spezia)

Post by Alethesnake »

Thanks a lot to both of you.

Sorry for the search, I used the wrong terms.

Bye,

Ale.
...
priyadarshikunal
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 1735
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 5:44 am
Location: Troy, MI

Post by priyadarshikunal »

Alethesnake wrote:Thanks a lot to both of you.

Sorry for the search, I used the wrong terms.

Bye,

Ale.
if the problem is resolved please mark this topic as resolved.
Priyadarshi Kunal

Genius may have its limitations, but stupidity is not thus handicapped. :wink:
Post Reply