Data flow cycle detected among operators in step

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
srinagesh
Participant
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 7:03 am

Data flow cycle detected among operators in step

Post by srinagesh »

Hi !

I was trying to do some fancy stuff in response to a query posted on this forum.

The issue was to split a string

Code: Select all

Id, String
1, "a,b,c,d,e,f"
as

Code: Select all

Id Value
1 a
1 b
1 c
1 d
1 e
1 f
without really knowing the maximum number of "values" in the "String"

I tried to design a Job

Code: Select all



srcFile ----->  Full Outer Join ----> Transformer -----> Output
                           ^                         |
                           |                          |
                           |                          v
                           ------------------ Filter

Basically, reading from the file once, passing it onto Transformer, where the "String" is split and the value before the first delimeter (in this case comma) is extracted and written to the output.
The rest of the "string" is passed thru a filter (to see if it is empty) and joined with the source.

Theoritically & Programatically this type of looping should work fine, but for some reason Datastage does not seem to like this.

When I run the job, I get the error..

Code: Select all

main_program: Data flow cycle detected among operators in step
I wanted to know if this is the normal behaviour of Datastage, or am I missing something, like setting up some environment variable.

Regards
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Re: Data flow cycle detected among operators in step

Post by chulett »

srinagesh wrote:Theoritically & Programatically this type of looping should work fine, but for some reason Datastage does not seem to like this.
No, it doesn't. You cannot build any kind of a "looping" structure in your jobs, Parallel or Server. Knock off the fancy stuff. :wink:
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
srinagesh
Participant
Posts: 125
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2005 7:03 am

Post by srinagesh »

:shock: Just when I thought Datastage was perfect :twisted:

Thanks for the clarification Craig.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

:arrow:
Looping in the Transformer stage is in the roadmap for DataStage. This means "beyond version 8.1" with no particular promise on when it will be available.
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

This particular problem is very easily solved with a server job!
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
Post Reply