Warning:Short input record

Post questions here relative to DataStage Enterprise/PX Edition for such areas as Parallel job design, Parallel datasets, BuildOps, Wrappers, etc.

Moderators: chulett, rschirm, roy

Post Reply
peddidsx
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:20 am

Warning:Short input record

Post by peddidsx »

Hi All,
I am using a schema file and RCP enabled to read the data from a sequential file.
My Schema file struncture looks as follows:
record
{final_delim=end, delim='\t', quote=none}
(
ID:nullable int32 {default='NULL'};
NAME:nullable string[]{null_field='',prefix=2};
END:nullable int32 {default='NULL'};
)


i/p file:
ID NAME END
1 XXX 0
2 YYY 0
3 ZZZ 0
4 AAA 0
5 BBB 0


When i run the job all the records are getting rejected with the following warning:
Sequential_File_24,0: Short input record
.
I searched the forums,but could not figure it out.Could you please advise?
Rajesh Peddi
neena
Participant
Posts: 90
Joined: Mon Mar 31, 2003 4:32 pm

Post by neena »

I saw a note in PDF saying, If you have defined columns on the Columns tab, make sure these match the schema file. Could you please recheck this.
peddidsx
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:20 am

Post by peddidsx »

neena wrote:I saw a note in PDF saying, If you have defined columns on the Columns tab, make sure these match the schema file. Could you please recheck this.
I have'nt defined any columns on the columns tab,just enabled RCP in the seq. file.
Rajesh Peddi
ArndW
Participant
Posts: 16318
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 9:08 am
Location: Germany
Contact:

Post by ArndW »

are you certain that your separators are actually "TAB"s and not "SPACE"s?
peddidsx
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:20 am

Post by peddidsx »

Yes Andrw.I am pretty much sure that they are TAB'S.
Rajesh Peddi
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

You need to be more than 'pretty sure', you need to be certain. What does the file look like if you open it in 'vi', type a colon and then "set list"?
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
peddidsx
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:20 am

Post by peddidsx »

chulett wrote:You need to be more than 'pretty sure', you need to be certain. What does the file look like if you open it in 'vi', type a colon and then "set list"?
Chulett,
I am certain that they are TAB's.The file looks like:
ID^INAME^IEND$

1^IRAJESH^I0$

2^INARESH^I0$

3^IRON^I0$

4^ISRINI^I0$

5^IVIVEK^I0$


when i set list on the file.
Rajesh Peddi
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

There ya go.
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
peddidsx
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:20 am

Post by peddidsx »

chulett wrote:There ya go.
Chulett,
I did not get you.Could you please elaborate?
Rajesh Peddi
chulett
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 43085
Joined: Tue Nov 12, 2002 4:34 pm
Location: Denver, CO

Post by chulett »

All I meant was - there ya go, now you know they are tabs. Scratch that off your list of "things that may be wrong".
-craig

"You can never have too many knives" -- Logan Nine Fingers
ray.wurlod
Participant
Posts: 54607
Joined: Wed Oct 23, 2002 10:52 pm
Location: Sydney, Australia
Contact:

Post by ray.wurlod »

I wonder whether END might be a reserved word? Can you try it with a different field name?
IBM Software Services Group
Any contribution to this forum is my own opinion and does not necessarily reflect any position that IBM may hold.
peddidsx
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:20 am

Post by peddidsx »

ray.wurlod wrote:I wonder whether END might be a reserved word? Can you try it with a different field name?
Ray,
I tried with a different filed name,but still the same warning.
Schema file:
record
{final_delim=end, delim='\t', quote=none}
(
ID:nullable int32 {default=NULL};
NAME:nullable string[]{null_field='',prefix=2};
EMPLOYEE:nullable int32 {default=NULL};
)
Rajesh Peddi
dnsjain
Charter Member
Charter Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 2:12 pm

Post by dnsjain »

Try removing "prefix=2" from the schema file and run again. I was getting the same error and did that and it is working.

Dinesh
peddidsx
Premium Member
Premium Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Dec 26, 2007 8:20 am

Post by peddidsx »

dnsjain wrote:Try removing "prefix=2" from the schema file and run again. I was getting the same error and did that and it is working.

Dinesh

Thanks Dinesh.It was working fine when i removed prefix=2
Rajesh Peddi
Post Reply